Circuit Blows When I Turn Off Switch - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2011, 11:36 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


I can reach my hand up in the ceiling and tell which piece of romex is going to the switch and which is going elsewhere. Will that tell me which wires go where?

Advertisement

joeg679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 12:14 AM   #17
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,362
Rewards Points: 3,518
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


Tell us about the wires on the switch as well. Which cable has the red? The one to the switch or the one to the vanity.

If you know tell what connected to what in the fixture before.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 12:31 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


There is a double box with the vanity and fan switch in it, but they work independently. Then above, there is a single bod that had the thermostat control for the old heater and that only has black and white romex. The only red wire that I see is from the heat lamp.
joeg679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 09:45 AM   #19
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,362
Rewards Points: 3,518
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Tell us about the wires on the switch as well. Which cable has the red? The one to the switch or the one to the vanity.
I repeat.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 09:46 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by joeg679 View Post
I can reach my hand up in the ceiling and tell which piece of romex is going to the switch and which is going elsewhere. Will that tell me which wires go where?
If you can tell then why are you asking. However I am led to believe that the first sentence is false and that you must do voltage measurements.

One more test. After doing the voltage measurements, turn off the breaker. NOw set the meter to ohms or continuity and test the two wires of the cable that showed no voltage. It should show no continuity when the switch is off and show continuity (near zero ohms) when the switch is on. Twist the thermostat knob to see if anything changes. Never do ohms or continuity or resistance checks on a live circuit.

When you said that the heat lamp has a red wire, does it also have a white wire and a black wire? What does its instructions say about the three wires? You would need to connect up the white wire from the heat lamp to neutral and connect either other to the hot feed in turn and see what happens (does the heat lamp have low and high settings that you could choose only one of given only one pair of wires down to the switch).
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 04-18-2011 at 09:56 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 10:32 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


The lamp has a white, red and black wire. The instructions say to connect the white to the either and the red and black to the black. I have 2 blacks and 2 whites coming out of the ceiling. I put the 2 blacks together and connected them to the black and red from the lamp and did the same with the white.
joeg679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 12:51 PM   #22
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,362
Rewards Points: 3,518
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


Tell us about the wire connections in the switch box.

In the ceiling which cable has the red wire. The one going to the switch ot the one to the vanity.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 01:08 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


I can't see the actual wires from the vanity or the connections. There is a very small hole to stick my head up but I can feel the wires going in different directions, at a point. One goes towards the vanity light an ms the other goes towards the switch. In the switch, there is only a black and white.
joeg679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 06:46 PM   #24
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,362
Rewards Points: 3,518
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


In the ceiling.
The appears to have been for the heater. Cap it. You don't need it. That appears to have been power to the old heater.
Take the white from the switch cable and connect it to the other blacks in the box.
Take the white from the fixture and connect to the remaining whites in the box.
Take the light fixture black and connect to the black from the switch.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 10:22 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
In the ceiling.
The appears to have been for the heater. Cap it. You don't need it. That appears to have been power to the old heater.
Take the white from the switch cable and connect it to the other blacks in the box.
Take the white from the fixture and connect to the remaining whites in the box.
Take the light fixture black and connect to the black from the switch.
What are u saying I should cap? There is a red and black from the lamp, should both be connected to the black from the switch? Thanks
joeg679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 10:24 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


[QUOTE=joed;632026]In the ceiling.
The appears to have been for the heater. Cap it. You don't need it. That appears to have been power to the old heater.
Take the white from the switch cable and connect it to the other blacks in the box.
Take the white from the fixture and connect to the remaining whites in the box.
Take the light fixture black and connect to the black from the
joeg679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 10:41 PM   #27
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,362
Rewards Points: 3,518
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


Tell me more about this lamp fixture. I thought it was just a lamp with two wires. If it has three wires then it has a lamp and ????

The red wire in the ceiling from your description goes to the thermostat on the wall.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 10:51 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


I don't even see a red wire in the wall, but I guess there is one. The lamp is 2, 250 w heat lamps and s small propeller fan that blows the heat down.
joeg679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 08:57 AM   #29
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,362
Rewards Points: 3,518
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


You got me totally confused as to what you have. I think it's time to call in an electrician for this.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
joeg679 (04-20-2011)
Old 04-19-2011, 12:39 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


Consider just the black and white wires. You need to connect them in three groups of two instead of two groups of three.

With three groups of two -- Power comes in on one wire (#1, hot), goes to switch (#2), comes back from switch (#3) goes to heater (#4), comes out of heater (#5, neutral), returns to panel (#6, neutral). Note that #1 has to be the hot wire (hence the needed voltage measurements) and is black. #3 and #4 may not be white. #5 must be white. And #6 is the white wire in the cable with #1.

If the above doesn't work then use the red wire in the heater as #4. (Or connect the red and black heater wires together and use as #4)

With two groups of three (doesn't work) -- Power comes in on one wire (#1), goes to switch #2), comes back from switch (#3), returns to panel (#6) and trips the breaker because this is a short circuit. Power also has the choice of coming in on #1, going to the heater (on #4), coming out of the heater (#5) and returning to the panel (#6) and will do this when the switch is flipped off preventing the come back on #3.

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 04-19-2011 at 04:45 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
joeg679 (04-20-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can switch work for two different outlets? jlmran Electrical 8 02-10-2011 01:31 PM
Outlet before light switch; Open Neutral? Fox Electrical 21 09-26-2010 09:38 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM
Add a separate switch to a 3way circuit skyhigh82 Electrical 3 03-23-2009 12:21 PM
adding 3-way switch to existing circuit msahaydak Electrical 4 02-18-2007 01:43 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts