Circuit Blows When I Turn Off Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2011, 05:50 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


I just wired a heat lamp and it turns on but when I turn the switch off it blows the circuit. What could be the problem?

Advertisement

joeg679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 05:56 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


is the breaker an AFCI or GFCI breaker?

what is the current draw of the lamp?

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 05:57 PM   #3
Member
 
waterman1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 161
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


Polarity?
waterman1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 06:00 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


I'm not sure about the draw or if it's gfci. It's a nutone 9422p lamp
joeg679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 06:02 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


Could it be the switch? I'm using a 15a 120v light switch
joeg679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 06:25 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,721
Rewards Points: 2,402
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


The switch could be drawing an arc,
This could cause blowing of the circuit,
Try replacing the switch.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 06:30 PM   #7
NACE Coating Inspector
 
mustangmike3789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 524
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


You may have it wired wrong. your white wires should be tied together and the black wires go to the switch.
mustangmike3789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 06:59 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,386
Rewards Points: 3,566
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


You have miswired a switch loop. You are actually turning on the switch. Did you "fix" a problem when you found a white connected a bunch of blacks at the fixture? It is supposed to be connected to the blacks.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 07:26 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
You have miswired a switch loop. You are actually turning on the switch. Did you "fix" a problem when you found a white connected a bunch of blacks at the fixture? It is supposed to be connected to the blacks.
When I turned on the power after I originally hooked up the switch it was set to on and I thought everything was fine, then I turned it off and the breaker went off. So, I switched the black and white wires on the switch and turned the breaker back on and the light worked and when I turned it off, the breaker went again. The old heat fan that was there ha2 2 sets of romex going to it. One set went to a plug and the other went to another plug and those plugs connected together to give the fan power. One of the romex goes to the switch and I think the other one goes to a vanity light that's in there, but I'm not sure. I put the 2 blacks and connected them to the black and red from the lamp and the 2 whites and connected them to the white from the lamp. Are you saying that one of the whites should have gone to the blacks and red?
joeg679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 07:58 PM   #10
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,386
Rewards Points: 3,566
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


Tell us ALL the cables and how they are connected at the light.
Tell us all the cables and connections at the switch.

You could also do this test. Disconnect one of the wires from the switch and cap it. Turn on the breaker. I am going to bet the light comes on.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 08:13 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


I tried to insert a drawing, but it didn't work. There are 2 pieces of romex going to the heat lamp (there was an in ceiling heater there before). One of those pieces goes to the switch and the other one goes either to the exhaust fan or the vanity light. There are 3 switches on the wall--one controls the vanity light, one controls the exhaust fan and there was a sort of thermostat that turned the old heater on. I took out the old heater and was left with 2 blacks, 2 whites and 2 grounds, in the ceiling. I put the 2 blacks together and connected them to the black and red from the lamp and put the two whites together and connected them to the white from the lamp.
joeg679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 08:22 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


Disconnect all four wires up at the heat lamp.

Turn on the breaker. Measure the voltage between every combination of two wires (excluding ground wires) up there. Flip the switch and repeat these measurements.

You should find that exactly one combination shows 120 volts and it is the two wires from the same Romex cable (that goes to the power source).

Now measure voltage between ground and each black or white wire in turn. Only the black that gave a 120 volt reading should give a 120 volt reading this time.

Turn off the breaker.

If everything checks out as I described then connect the other black wire (without a 120 volt reading) to the heat lamp black. Connect the white from the hot Romex cable to the heat lamp white. Connect the remaining two wires (one from each cable, one black, one white) together. (The cable with no hot readings went to the switch)
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 04-18-2011 at 09:42 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
joeg679 (04-17-2011)
Old 04-17-2011, 08:47 PM   #13
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by joeg679 View Post
I tried to insert a drawing, but it didn't work.
How to attach a photo to a post

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DangerMouse For This Useful Post:
joeg679 (04-17-2011)
Old 04-17-2011, 09:00 PM   #14
NACE Coating Inspector
 
mustangmike3789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 524
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


is this a heat lamp only or is it a light/fan/ heatlamp unit.
mustangmike3789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 09:12 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


Just a heat lamp. I'm away from it now so I can't test the wires.

Advertisement

joeg679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can switch work for two different outlets? jlmran Electrical 8 02-10-2011 01:31 PM
Outlet before light switch; Open Neutral? Fox Electrical 21 09-26-2010 09:38 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM
Add a separate switch to a 3way circuit skyhigh82 Electrical 3 03-23-2009 12:21 PM
adding 3-way switch to existing circuit msahaydak Electrical 4 02-18-2007 01:43 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts