Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-26-2011, 09:27 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ontario/Canada
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Circuit for bathroom in the basement


Hi I'm building a bathroom in my basement and I am planning for the electrical installation.
I want to have:
two lamps (75 watts each), controlled by one switch
one fan (50watts), controlled by timer
one GFCI receptacles

I will start the wiring in the GFCI device and from there feed the two lamps and fan (so the entire circuit is protected).


My question is how to feed this circuit. I thought of a few options:
1) Add a new circuit
- I think it is a bit overkill

- My panel is pretty busy already as it, adding a new breaker probably means adding a sub-panel
2) Branch off an existing circuit, I have three nearby:
a) One only has a GFCI receptacles outside the house in it, it powers a very small pump for a pond I have in the backyard
- I don't know if the code permits to have a circuit that servers outdoor and indoor devices in it.

b) The circuit that serves the unfinished part of the basement, it has 5 lamps and my gas water tank heater in it. The total load in this circuit is about 6 or 8 amps.
- I was kind of surprised to learn a gas water heater tank draws a maximum current of 5 amps, does that sounds right to you ? I was expecting less.
- I definitely do not want to trip the circuit serving the water heater every time someone uses the blow drier.

c) the circuit that serves the finished part of the basement (two rooms), it has 10 lamps (55watts each) and 10 wall plugs (but only 1 in use, a TV that is off most of the time). Total load 6 amps.



What do you think is the best options ?

felipe_heidrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 09:37 AM   #2
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Circuit for bathroom in the basement


You need a dedicated circuit. You can only feed a bath rec from another bath rec. Lights can go on a different circuit, but not receptacle.

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
NJMarine (08-26-2011)
Old 08-26-2011, 03:01 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ontario/Canada
Posts: 3
Default

Circuit for bathroom in the basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
You need a dedicated circuit. You can only feed a bath rec from another bath rec. Lights can go on a different circuit, but not receptacle.
I'm in Ontario/Canada.
I thought that is okay here at least, see Answer: 9-47-41 in the ESA FAQ
"Subject: Bathroom receptacle - separate circuit required?
Question
Is a separate circuit required to supply a receptacle in a bathroom?
Answer

The code does not require a separate circuit for bathroom receptacles. Bathroom receptacles can be supplied by a general purpose circuit that supplies other general purpose receptacle and lighting outlets. Multiple bath and washrooms are permitted to be supplied by the same circuit. Rule 8-304.

In bathrooms where heavy loads such as hair dryers may be used it is recommended not to combine multiple bathrooms on the same circuit.

Ontario Electrical Safety Code 24th Edition/2009
Related Answers
9-18-4 GFCI, bathroom receptacles
9-0-22 Bath exhaust fan count as outlet?"
felipe_heidrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 04:37 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,583
Default

Circuit for bathroom in the basement


If the location was filled out in your profile it would have helped.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 04:54 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ontario/Canada
Posts: 3
Default

Circuit for bathroom in the basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
If the location was filled out in your profile it would have helped.
Sure, fixed.
I am new here, thus I didn't know that...
felipe_heidrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tripping breakers,neutrals,120 volts and 240 volts OH My!!! Stubbie Electrical 17 06-11-2011 06:09 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
Insulating basement ceiling - your recommendations? jtmann HVAC 8 11-24-2009 04:44 PM
Basement antenna using electric circuit Woodcutter Electrical 6 11-03-2009 07:41 AM
Basement Bathroom Circuit design drtpdee Electrical 6 01-03-2008 10:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.