Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-02-2012, 08:12 PM   #1

Share |

Christmas Lighting Ideas

Hello all!

I would like to generate few Christmas Lighting ideas for this year and I need your help! Of course I am planning to decorate the tree. But this year I want my husband to help me put lighting outside the house as well.

Running extension cords from the outlets or electrical wiring should not be an issue. What I am wondering is how can I make the lights flash! I already have some static lights for the trees. I am planning to buy for the outdoors.

Is there any device or gadget I can buy locally or order online that can make my static lights animating the way I want? I want to have total control over the blinking patterns or flash!

I am a complete newbie in electronics! So, please help me find a solution.

- Sarah
sarahb84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 08:39 PM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek

Christmas Lighting Ideas

There is a LOT of information on the internet about automation of Christmas light installations. Loads of people are doing it with varying degrees of complexity and impressiveness, and posting all the info out there for everyone to learn from. There are wireless computer-controlled solutions for light animation. There are wired solutions as well, and control devices with varying degrees of complexity from really basic (devices that just make lights flash) to very complex (scripted light animation via theater-grade lighting control systems).
Old 10-02-2012, 10:27 PM   #3
JOATMON

Christmas Lighting Ideas

Watch the movie "Christmas Vacation"......for examples of what NOT TO DO.

My
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.