Choosing Under Cabinet Lighting - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2008, 07:49 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,148
Rewards Points: 592
Default

Choosing Under Cabinet Lighting


I'm planning on updating my kitchen as was wondering what the best option for under cabinet lighting is? I will be installing a new backsplash and all new cabinets. Should I hardwire? I have a large kitchen ("G" shape) with breaks in the layout for the stove on one wall and sink on another. So, I would like to get light to just about every cabinet. Can this be done with low voltage? Just need some options I guess.

How difficult is it to actually hardwire cabinet lighting?

Advertisement


Last edited by cibula11; 03-19-2008 at 08:31 PM.
cibula11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 08:58 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,148
Rewards Points: 592
Default

Choosing Under Cabinet Lighting


Okay, let me ask this question. If I choose hardwired lights, how do I make them run on one switch. I have an outlet inside a base cabinet that serves no purpose. I thought I could use that as a power source.

Advertisement

cibula11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 10:26 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 49
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Choosing Under Cabinet Lighting


Quote:
Originally Posted by cibula11 View Post
I'm planning on updating my kitchen as was wondering what the best option for under cabinet lighting is? I will be installing a new backsplash and all new cabinets. Should I hardwire? I have a large kitchen ("G" shape) with breaks in the layout for the stove on one wall and sink on another. So, I would like to get light to just about every cabinet. Can this be done with low voltage? Just need some options I guess.

How difficult is it to actually hardwire cabinet lighting?
Hi cibula11,

I don't know about wiring. However, we had a post on our blog last month about our kitchen make over which included this article about our kitchen lighting, including pictures of the undermount lighting as well as pendant and recessed ceiling lights. The pictures showing the hardware for the undermount lighting is towards the end.

I hope it helps.
Educator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 11:57 PM   #4
Master Of Nothing
 
mr500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Choosing Under Cabinet Lighting


Quote:
Originally Posted by cibula11 View Post
Okay, let me ask this question. If I choose hardwired lights, how do I make them run on one switch. I have an outlet inside a base cabinet that serves no purpose. I thought I could use that as a power source.

If it had power don't see why not. Check and see what is wired into this switch..
To run all off one switch, daisy chain your lights. I have mine wired that way in my shop. One light feeds the next light so on and so on.
__________________
Im Not An Electrician...But I Did Stay At A Holiday Inn Express Last Night!!
mr500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008, 03:00 AM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Choosing Under Cabinet Lighting


Quote:
Originally Posted by cibula11 View Post
Okay, let me ask this question. If I choose hardwired lights, how do I make them run on one switch. I have an outlet inside a base cabinet that serves no purpose. I thought I could use that as a power source.

is this repectale located near below kitchen sink or above the stove area like exhaust fan area ? some home they did wired in place like above the stove area that used for exhaust fan hood or mircowave [ that useally a single circuit ] as far if it is below the sink C'est a 50/50 chance it can be used as dishwasher or garbage disopal unit.

but just one quick reminder do not run the zip cord [ flat two wire lamp cord ] inside the wall it is not allowed per NEC code.

Merci, Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008, 10:45 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,148
Rewards Points: 592
Default

Choosing Under Cabinet Lighting


Thanks for the info. The outlet is next the the stove, but there is a range hood and I assume the power source for that is behind the hood. I think this was used to plug in a timer on an older gas stove. We now have electric, so the outlet is being unused.

Can I put my switch at the end of the run of lights? Or do I need to have it close to the power source?
cibula11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 08:44 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,148
Rewards Points: 592
Default

Choosing Under Cabinet Lighting


Where should I install my switch for my cabinet lighting. Does it have to be installed close to my power source, or can I have it at the end of the run of lights? If I have to run lighting to 3 separate areas, will I then have 3 junctions boxes to connect the 3 different areas? Is the basement the best place?

Advertisement

cibula11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low Voltage Cabinet Lighting Recommendations BigJimmy Electrical 2 01-20-2008 02:01 PM
lighting a covered, enclosed patio 1655graff Electrical 5 11-21-2007 09:06 AM
Under cabinet lighting TonyD Electrical 20 11-08-2007 07:00 AM
Under cabinet linear lighting? kcrossley2 Electrical 1 07-08-2007 08:26 AM
under cabinet lighting handifoot Electrical 1 05-26-2006 12:48 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts