Chimney Chase - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-26-2007, 08:09 AM   #1
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,783
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

Chimney Chase


I'd like to run electrical up next to the chimney as an electrical chase. How far away from the chimeny do I need to keep the wires?
TIA

Advertisement

__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 11:50 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Chimney Chase


I'm not certain you can. Call local inspectors office for details.

If you can, do not run "wires". Use metal conduit and use unistrut or miny's for spacing. Unistrut can be purchased in several depths. Use the correct fittings for the conduit (Outdoor) and the correct straps for the unistrut. Unistrut is a channel, minny's are spaced straps. Someone here can show you a picture of both. "stub, how bout it"?

Advertisement

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 01:24 PM   #3
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,206
Rewards Points: 2,382
Default

Chimney Chase


Are you fishing or new construction?

I'm assuming this is a metal 2 or 3 wall factory built metal flue chimney installed in a wood framed space? Most metal flue chimneys require 2" separation from wiring or other combustibles.


J.V.

I can show the hardware but need to establish a little more information before doing so.....
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 02:10 PM   #4
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,783
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

Chimney Chase


This is an old masonary chimney with flues for the fireplace and heating equipment. It's not new construction but I've opened all the walls.
It's right in the middle of the house and would be perfect to get to get all the home runs from the from the attic to the panel in the basement.
__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 02:16 PM   #5
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,206
Rewards Points: 2,382
Default

Chimney Chase


For masonry chimneys this is done all the time. If you have provided access then you must support your wiring. are you planning using romex or some other wiring method?
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 04:15 PM   #6
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,783
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

Chimney Chase


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
For masonry chimneys this is done all the time. If you have provided access then you must support your wiring. are you planning using romex or some other wiring method?
Since it will be open, my plan was to use romex and run empty conduit for future circuits. I was also planning on running the heat (hot water) in the same chase.

There's no problem running next to an existing chimney?

My next best option is to run it next to the plumbing stack but the runs will be about 50% longer because it's on the other side of the house.
__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 05:59 PM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,206
Rewards Points: 2,382
Default

Chimney Chase


If your talking along the chimney inside the framing air space there are no restrictions to my knowledge. This is very common when fishing wires to attic areas. If you are worried about heat...if it gets that hot on the outside of the chimney flue to affect the romex your house will be burning and you will have a serious breach of the masonry protection.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 06:28 PM   #8
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,783
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

Chimney Chase


Thanks,
I'm not worried about my chimney in particular. It got a clean bill of health and besides I'm only venting gas fired appliances with the appropriate aluminum liner.
I thought there was newer code than the code when the house was built that specified how close you could put anything to the chimney. If I tack to the studs next to the chimeny I should be OK.

Advertisement

__________________
I tear things down and build them up.

Last edited by Clutchcargo; 10-26-2007 at 06:47 PM.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
water leaking through brick chimney quigleybmd Concrete, Stone & Masonry 45 02-26-2013 05:26 PM
Moisture-proofing chimney box wall penetration faithmyeyes Roofing/Siding 3 01-06-2007 12:23 AM
Smelly old chimney! ttroupe Building & Construction 2 08-04-2006 08:44 PM
Addition around existing brick chimney Adenmoor Building & Construction 2 11-20-2004 11:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts