Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-19-2011, 01:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

?? to check power status in subpanel


What would I purchase to check to make certain there was no power going to breakers i was going to work on in a subpanel? i just want an added layer of protection to make sure i an mot working with live wires.
thanks

rs2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 01:43 PM   #2
Member
 
rditz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 271
Default

?? to check power status in subpanel


a simple "no contact" tool would be a pencil type tester. you can get these at any home improvement store.

you hold and point the tip to the wire you are checking.. once you have the tester in range, it will flash and beep (depending on the type).

rod

rditz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 02:04 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,633
Default

?? to check power status in subpanel


Never trust your life to a no contact tester!

They have there place in troubleshotting, but not to bet your life on them.
You need a wiggy style tester, or a multi meter.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"

Last edited by jbfan; 04-19-2011 at 05:44 PM. Reason: spelling.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
HouseHelper (04-19-2011)
Old 04-19-2011, 05:39 PM   #4
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

?? to check power status in subpanel


seconded no contacts are dangerous to DIYers, Proper technique to prove power is off is to use a DMM.
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 06:04 PM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

?? to check power status in subpanel


Quote:
Originally Posted by rs2004 View Post
What would I purchase to check to make certain there was no power going to breakers i was going to work on in a subpanel? i just want an added layer of protection to make sure i an mot working with live wires.
thanks
Since you are asking the question about what to use to test for power to a breaker is sounds like you do not have a lot of experience in this area. Get yourself a multimeter, it doesn't have to be a pro model.
So first thing, does the sub panel have a main disconnect? This would be a large breaker at one end of the bus bars. If so, you have double protection. Your main panel that feeds the sub will have a breaker to cut power to the sub and if the sub has a disconnect that too will cut power, but only to the bus bars. The feed lines have to be turned of at the main. If you really want to make sure you've cut power measure the power feed lines where they connect to the sub with your new meter. You should read 240 volts. Then go to your main panel and turn off the breaker that protects the sub. Then go back to the sub and see if the 240 volts is gone.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 06:52 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

?? to check power status in subpanel


Quote:
Originally Posted by rditz View Post
a simple "no contact" tool would be a pencil type tester. you can get these at any home improvement store.

you hold and point the tip to the wire you are checking.. once you have the tester in range, it will flash and beep (depending on the type).

rod
Rod.,

I will never trust the NCV tester 100% of the time sometime they can get a fause signal as well so use the wiggy or DVM meter and double check by check with verify source then test what need to be done and go back and double check to make sure the meter is not wacked or anything.

All the years I always carry at least two test meters or more in case one not working I get second one to verify it.

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inverter powering a subpanel codename47 Electrical 4 03-22-2011 11:03 AM
A few slightly different questions on subpanel wiring. Chris Dopp Electrical 8 06-26-2009 09:45 PM
Wring for Lincoln Power Mig Welder vstoyko Electrical 17 01-15-2009 06:15 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Subpanel to Shed - Check my plan NateHanson Electrical 9 04-26-2007 09:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.