Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-02-2009, 06:37 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 196
Share |
Default

check my wire diagram please. thanks!


Hey everyone below is a wire diagram that i planned out for my first house that i will be closing on soon. I have a 3br ranch with an attic to work with and also a basement. My panel is a total of 100 amps. my plans are to add 6 recessed lights in the living room. My living has no ceiling lights or fan to tap off of.

Also i will be putting about 8 recessed lights in the kitchen. Now since I am excited about my first house im already planning without even having the keys lol. Just sucks waiting for the closing...

Please check out my diagram and correct me if needed.

I have to scope out the situation again as instead of getting power from a wall outlet, i might just get power from a switch if there is one in a good location. if not then i will be from a outlet then i will be installing a dimmer switch. do you think 100 amps will be enough? also should i add a breaker or tap into another circuit (as in the wall outlet as in the diagram)? my living room is about 15 x 12 so im thinking about 45 watts per light unless you guys (experts) think thats over kill for a small room.

As for the kitchen I do have a current light over the sink and a chandaler to the side since its a eat in kitchen. As far as mounting is there a rule as far as lighting up a counter and how much to space the lights apart? I really like the 4 inch lights.

Thanks in advance!
fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 06:53 PM   #2
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

check my wire diagram please. thanks!


Whether 100 amps service is enough or not has more to do with what sort of heating/water heater/stove you have than with your lighting circuits.

3x45 watts... do you mean incandescent?
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 07:06 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 196
Default

check my wire diagram please. thanks!


well in my diagram i show 3 lights but my pattern will continue either being 6 for the living or 8 for the kitchen. im not sure yet on how much watts. is 45 each to low?
fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 12:43 PM   #4
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Default

check my wire diagram please. thanks!


your plan is fine.. be sure to use remodel type cans approved for insulated area. Assuming your attic floor is insulated. These are called IC.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 04:08 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 196
Default

check my wire diagram please. thanks!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Mariani View Post
your plan is fine.. be sure to use remodel type cans approved for insulated area. Assuming your attic floor is insulated. These are called IC.
thank you. they way my setup is. im adding wire between each can so the wires can reach, this is normal right? cus they only give me about 6 inches of wire to work with.
fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 01:08 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Southern Wisconsin
Posts: 171
Default

check my wire diagram please. thanks!


Your plan for the living room looks fine. I would, in good practice, just check to see what's all on the circuit you plan on tapping off of first. If you use 45 watt incandesent bulbs and there are 6 of them that would add about 270 watts to that circuit. It'll probably be fine, but I like to check those things out just to be sure you won't be causing any problems with circuit overloading. You may have to add a new circuit/breaker but it all depends. Also make sure that you don't tap off of circuits that are supposed to be dedicated like the kitchen appliance circuits for example. And yes, it is normal to have to add wire to connect the light fixtures.

I don't know of any code on lighting setup for kitchen counters.

I also think 45 watts bulbs are probably plenty, but you'll know after you install them. Unless the fixture says otherwise you can go the next wattage higher if need be.

Like Bob said make sure you're installing the proper fixture if there is insulation involved.
Steelhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 06:55 AM   #7
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Default

check my wire diagram please. thanks!


Code specifies that you cannot use the outlets in the kitchen or dinning room for lighting. Any other circuit is fine. If is highly unlikely that and other circuit you use will ba a problem. 100 amp service has nothing to di with this. It is only a factor with your total electrical demand on your house. If your house is 2000 SF or less, you should be fine. 45 watts enough... not likely. Use 75watt and place on a dimmer as you planned. To determine the watts needed Sq/ft of room X 3 watts

wiring between lights is the normal installation. Just be sure all terminations are contained within the fixture junction boxes.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 11:03 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 196
Default

check my wire diagram please. thanks!


[quote=Bob Mariani;206557]Use 75watt and place on a dimmer as you planned. To determine the watts needed Sq/ft of room X 3 watts
quote]


so since the room is 15 x 12. we are talking about 90watts per light? seems high but if thats the ratio for a room then ill just hit it with the dimmer like you suggested. thanks!
fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 11:32 AM   #9
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Default

check my wire diagram please. thanks!


That is not needed. Use the R3075 watt lamps. Space between them could be about 3 - 4 foot.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacement Light Fixture - Speed Wire Clip? nick4597 Electrical 4 01-03-2009 12:49 PM
Is using a ground wire as neutral wire safe? Head Fred Electrical 9 12-18-2008 02:37 PM
old wire, backfed switch question Jack A. Trades Electrical 6 07-03-2008 11:05 AM
Can you wire a 3-way circuit with 2 wire + ground mnyman2003 Electrical 8 12-04-2007 08:23 AM
Does a 6 x 12ga wire nut exist? peeks Electrical 1 10-02-2005 09:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.