Charging Subpanel ... More Questions - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2012, 12:54 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,302
Rewards Points: 1,038
Question

charging subpanel ... more questions


1. do i use the same kind of circuit breaker to charge a subpanel as i would for a regular circuit?

2. if i use a 100A circuit breaker on the main panel to charge the subpanel, will AWG 3 wires suffice for black/red/neutral? and can i go smaller for the ground?

thanks

Advertisement

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 02:09 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

charging subpanel ... more questions


The minimum size of equipment grounding conductor for a 100 Amp feeder or circuit is #8 copper.

The #3 feeders are fine.

Advertisement

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (08-15-2012)
Old 08-15-2012, 06:37 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,302
Rewards Points: 1,038
Default

charging subpanel ... more questions


can i go smaller than 3 AWG. i am gonna go with a cable, not loose conductors actually
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 06:50 PM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,206
Rewards Points: 2,382
Default

charging subpanel ... more questions


What is the amperage rating for the sub-panel ?
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 07:11 PM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

charging subpanel ... more questions


If its being fed off a 100a then it has to be #3
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to andrew79 For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (08-15-2012)
Old 08-15-2012, 08:12 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,302
Rewards Points: 1,038
Default

charging subpanel ... more questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by stubie
What is the amperage rating for the sub-panel ?
200 but i am feeding it off of a 100A circuit breaker in the main panel. I got a bigger amperage because i may switch it to its own meter in the future
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 08:57 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

charging subpanel ... more questions


If you are using AL cable to feed the sub you need 2/2/2/4.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 10:19 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

charging subpanel ... more questions


That #2 SE cable is only good for 90 Amps max ....
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 10:23 PM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

charging subpanel ... more questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
That #2 SE cable is only good for 90 Amps max ....
looked at the wrong column. As you can tell, we don't use much AL wire here.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 10:36 PM   #10
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

charging subpanel ... more questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
looked at the wrong column. As you can tell, we don't use much AL wire here.
Dont worry, most guys around here use table 310.15(B)(6) when wiring subpanels.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 11:00 PM   #11
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Rewards Points: 250
Default

charging subpanel ... more questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Dont worry, most guys around here use table 310.15(B)(6) when wiring subpanels.
Umm, were you referring to 310.15(b)(16)??
__________________
Knowledge is Power, but 240v can Keel You!!
MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 11:03 PM   #12
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

charging subpanel ... more questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterZ View Post
Umm, were you referring to 310.15(b)(16)??
No I think he is referring to 310.15(b)(7) in the 2011 code. He is still using the 2005...(b)(6) was changed to (b)(7) in the 2011.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
MisterZ (08-15-2012), stickboy1375 (08-15-2012)
Old 08-15-2012, 11:06 PM   #13
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Rewards Points: 250
Default

charging subpanel ... more questions


Ahh thanks, i have 08 and 2011..... maybe we should ask cossac what he thinks. Hahaha.

Try to out-funny me now Stickboy

Advertisement

__________________
Knowledge is Power, but 240v can Keel You!!

Last edited by MisterZ; 08-15-2012 at 11:09 PM.
MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MisterZ For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (08-16-2012)
Reply

Tags
subpanel


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Subpanel to outdoor workshop RM575 Electrical 22 08-01-2012 10:59 PM
Adding subpanel next to main box insane_drummer Electrical 25 06-10-2011 11:39 AM
Adding a subpanel to a sub-panel and other questions CardinalPilot Electrical 14 03-30-2011 03:23 PM
Subpanel installation in outbuilding fls Electrical 19 03-16-2008 03:19 PM
Reverse Polarity at the Subpanel adm060306 Electrical 14 07-09-2007 01:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts