Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-20-2010, 11:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Changing two prong electrical outlets to grounded three prongs


Like many of post(er's), I just brought a new house that has many two prong outlets. I have noticed that that two prong outlets have a metal box with a wire secured with a screw type of clip on the inside bottom of the box. This is not including the wires going directely into the two pronged outlet. I would like to covert all of the outlets to three pronged. The three pronged outlets have a small green screw. Can I attached the wire that is secured to bottom of the box to the green screw? It that safe/up to code? Thanks.

Jabar714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 11:17 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Changing two prong electrical outlets to grounded three prongs


what kind of wire is attached to the metal box?

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 11:21 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Changing two prong electrical outlets to grounded three prongs


Looks like copper wire
Jabar714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 11:59 PM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Changing two prong electrical outlets to grounded three prongs


It sounds like you have an equipment grounding conductor (EGC a.k.a. ground wire).

If so, you can use either a self grounding receptacle where the connection to the box is a legal ground (receps must be listed as self grounding), or you could attach a ground wire to the green screw on the recep and attach it to the box.

If you are comfortable opening your electrical panel, you should do that and check to see if there are actually 3 conductors coming from those receps. That is to verify what you area seeing is actually a grounding wire.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nap For This Useful Post:
Jabar714 (12-21-2010)
Old 12-21-2010, 01:14 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Changing two prong electrical outlets to grounded three prongs


When in doubt (or when there is no ground wire present), it's my understanding that it is always ok to install a GFCI outlet. That's what I did in my old house for outlets where we wanted 3 prongs but the box wasn't wired for it. Obviously this is a more expensive solution but it will definitely work and might be considered safer.
Flux is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Flux For This Useful Post:
Jabar714 (12-21-2010)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing 2 Prong To 3 Prong Outlet JAVAMAN Electrical 38 12-02-2012 06:32 AM
changing 3 prong receptacle to 4 prong WendyS Electrical 12 01-17-2010 08:59 PM
Changing all outlets, what do I buy? Mike2181 Electrical 29 10-05-2009 08:55 PM
non grounded outlets in the basement? TableTiger1 Electrical 19 02-08-2009 04:40 PM
Please help, changing dryer cord from 3 prong to 4 prong oldpirate Electrical 8 08-10-2008 04:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.