Changing Three Way Switch To Two Way Switch? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2010, 07:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Post

Changing three way switch to two way switch?


Hi,
I have a three-way switch whereby one switch is at the top of the stairs, one at the bottom and a third in the basement rec room - they all work the light to the staircase down to the basement and a light over the doorway in the rec room. I want to change this so the one at the top of the stairs and the one at the bottom work the light to the stairs but, and this is the fun part, the one in the rec room works the light over the doorway. is this possible and how do I do it?

Advertisement

Ricky&theblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 02:19 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,959
Rewards Points: 2,314
Default

Changing three way switch to two way switch?


It is possible, but only with about 50 questions.
Where does the feed come from?
Are the walls open to get to the switches and lights?
Can you use romex in your area?
What advange do you hope to gain from all the frustration and work?
There will be other questions as these are answered.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 05:20 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Changing three way switch to two way switch?


Hi Jimmy ... the band plays a few of your songs

It is possible, but only with about 50 questions.
Where does the feed come from? Not sure ... the top of the stairs I think.
Are the walls open to get to the switches and lights? No.
Can you use romex in your area? What is romex?
What advange do you hope to gain from all the frustration and work? The rec room is now turned into a suite - so wewould love independant control down there of the doorway light.
There will be other questions as these are answered.

Hope this helps.
R

P.S. "He Went To Paris" is a great song by Jimmy.
Ricky&theblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 06:17 PM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,230
Rewards Points: 2,370
Default

Changing three way switch to two way switch?


I will try to be gentle: If you do not know what Romex is, you are over your head. Even if the existing wiring configuration is such that it can be done without rewiring, you will need to have a better understanding of the circuit.

BTW, the middle switch in you existing setup (if you have described it correctly) is called a 4 way switch. (Makes as much sense as calling a 3 way a 3 way, but that is what it is called.)
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In-Line Switch on Hard Wired Fixture 1sthome1068 Electrical 2 08-29-2010 08:42 AM
Switch now controls large area... froddan Electrical 5 12-06-2009 11:04 PM
Light switch installation problems pc_clone Electrical 8 11-30-2009 10:25 PM
Modification to an existing pump switch DRBLKJK Electrical 10 08-23-2009 04:06 PM
Changing Light Fixture - Way too many wires and light wont switch off marapapa Electrical 3 01-13-2006 02:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts