Changing Single Phase To 3 Phase - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2007, 02:35 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

changing single phase to 3 phase


can i convert home use single phase supply to 3 phase for comercial sunbed. polly. Scotland.

Advertisement

bentaypink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 02:40 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Downeast Maine
Posts: 999
Rewards Points: 500
Default

changing single phase to 3 phase


Yes. You need a phase converter. There are two kinds:

Solid State phase converters are little black boxes that electronically produce the 3rd phase. They allow 3-phase motors to start on single phase power, but they don't generate the same power as they do when run on 3 phase. These are limited in capacity to a couple horse-power, but are much cheaper than the next kind.

Rotary phase converters use a 3 phase motor to generate the third leg, and electronics to balance the 3 legs evenly. Motors run on this type of converter have all the power as if run on real 3-phase power off the POCO pole. This come in a wide range of sizes, and can be sized to run even very large motors.

I have no idea how all this applies to a non-motor load like a tanning bed.

I'd contact the manufacturer and ask them if you can use their bed on a solid state phase converter, and what size is needed.

Advertisement

NateHanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 04:01 PM   #3
General Contractor
 
joasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 876
Rewards Points: 500
Default

changing single phase to 3 phase


I cannot see why a tanning bed would be 3 phase. Unless it has an incredible load when on.....are you sure you are confusing 3 phase with 220 volts?

I am not an electrician, but 3 phase power would have no application for lighting, as far as I know.
__________________
Ladwig Construction
Hennessey, Oklahoma
405 853 1563



joasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 04:55 PM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,235
Rewards Points: 2,440
Default

changing single phase to 3 phase


I just love these guys that want to make an ass of themselves by replying with total BS so they can get their ad posted.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 05:00 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

changing single phase to 3 phase


I am an electrician and all tanning units are different. If it requires a three phase system your only option is to get an induced thrid phase converter. You don't have a need enough for your power supplier to give you a third phase and they don't have any way of giving it to you. The transformer your house house is supplied from is only set up for single phase power. Please read all the info on your tanning unit because that will define the trans x you will need i.e. 277v,480v,600v ect. most trans x are set for a single voltage application.
wiredog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 11:07 AM   #6
Once fried, twice shy.
 
elkangorito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Thailand
Posts: 251
Rewards Points: 250
Default

changing single phase to 3 phase


Ahem....the OP is in Scotland!

I think that Nate is on the ball but please don't even think for one second that the OP knows what POCO is & also be aware that Scottish voltages etc will not be the same as that of the USA.
__________________
Switchboard design engineer & Licensed Electrician (Australia).
elkangorito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 01:09 AM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

changing single phase to 3 phase


it possible to get 3 system in Scottland for resdental service.

but the voltage is diffrent than what we have here in UK-Scottland is 240v L-N and 415 L-L

but i dont have the info for getting the Scottland info but i know with French system [ but that diffrent story anyway ]

i am sure the Scottland is pretty much parallel with the UK regulations expect few local issue.

Merci, Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 06:54 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

changing single phase to 3 phase


thank you everyone for your help. Scotland does have the same electrical supply as the rest of the uk. 240v. The sunbed is industrial and we only run on single phase. You were correct Elkangorito i haven't got a clue what poco means lol.And i hope op doesn't mean old pensioner lol.
bentaypink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 07:33 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,413
Rewards Points: 824
Default

changing single phase to 3 phase


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
I just love these guys that want to make an ass of themselves by replying with total BS so they can get their ad posted.
Before i read your reply,I thought that was a pretty good idea.I still do.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 01:32 PM   #10
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,235
Rewards Points: 2,440
Default

changing single phase to 3 phase


Then maybe you should take a second and read the forum policy on posting business solicitations on the forum threads. Frankly it's rather annoying to have someone post just to get their ad in front of everyones eyes. As far as the bs about no 3 phase tanning beds and lighting has no 3 phase application...I'm still laughing at that one.

Also remember this op is from Scotland so it makes it more obvious that he had no intention of helping the OP, just his personal interests. If he wants to advertize then buy an ad on the forum in a banner form. Maybe he is just too damn cheap for doing the right thing. Heck why didn't he just open his own thread and give us his life history I'm sure we would all be responsive to that approach.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 04:23 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Downeast Maine
Posts: 999
Rewards Points: 500
Default

changing single phase to 3 phase


Quote:
Originally Posted by bentaypink View Post
i haven't got a clue what poco means lol.And i hope op doesn't mean old pensioner lol.
POCO means Power Company. The electrical utility.

Advertisement

NateHanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
heating element 240 volt single phase geeyathink Electrical 19 02-20-2011 07:57 AM
Converting std 220v/60hz to Single phase 240V 3-wire jryali Electrical 19 03-24-2009 12:06 AM
Single to 3 phase invertors/converters bantanic Electrical 6 02-09-2007 10:20 AM
3 phase electricity J187 Electrical 11 10-26-2006 02:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts