Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-02-2012, 10:59 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Changing single 240v outlet to two 120v outlets??

Hi I currently have a 240v electric range w/ small exhaust hood over it. I'm gonna swap out the electric range for a gas range and the exhaust hood for a microwave w/ exhaust fan. The current exhaust hood is not on a dedicated circuit just part of the kitchen outlets. I want to have a dedicated circuit for the gas range & microwave that will have two 120v outlets on the circuit, one for the gas range and one for the microwave.

My question is can I accomplish what I'm trying to do by using the existing wire but change out the two 50amp breakers in the main panel to one 20amp breaker and put a blank over the other hole and on the other end connect to the existing wire and use it for two 120v outlets??
I'm not an electrician but do have quite a bit of experience with electrical and remodeling, however I want to be sure that I do this correctly and up to code. I can't afford to have an electrician do this so I have to do it myself. Thanks for the help...

tyrboss01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 12:11 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician

Rewards Points: 2,000

To answer your question.,,

Oui et Non ( Yes and No ) depending on what type of cable you are using there.

So post us what numbers of conductors in that cable so we will know the answer there.

Merci,
Marc

Old 10-03-2012, 12:18 AM   #3
Electrician

Rewards Points: 150