Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-01-2011, 04:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 4
Share |
Default

changing out old cord for drill


i have a 110v electric drill with a 2 prong cord and would like to change it to a longer #14 3 wire/3 prong cord. right now it is a 2 prong cord w/o ground. any suggestions on how to ground this?

mcfangz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 04:06 PM   #2
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Rewards Points: 0
Default

changing out old cord for drill


Is the drill housing plastic? There is probably simply nothing to ground on it, so it's ok to just have 2 prongs. My newish Dewalt only has 2 prongs.

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 04:07 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,585
Rewards Points: 4
Default

changing out old cord for drill


Your drill is most likely double insulated and does not need the third wire.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
mcfangz (05-01-2011)
Old 05-01-2011, 04:21 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 0
Default

changing out old cord for drill


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Your drill is most likely double insulated and does not need the third wire.

Ditto.....Double Insulated tools are equipped with a polarized plug (one blade is wider than the other.)
Gizmoman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gizmoman For This Useful Post:
mcfangz (05-01-2011)
Old 05-01-2011, 07:51 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 4
Default

changing out old cord for drill


yes , it is a double insulated AEG SBE-38R 115 VAC 4A 50-60 HZ. actually the plugs are both 1/4" in width. some of my other 2 prongs are 1/4" and 3/8" - polarized. these don't appear to be polarized. what should be done with the green/ground wire on the new cord?? thanx.
mcfangz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 09:26 PM   #6
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 359
Rewards Points: 2
Default

changing out old cord for drill


Quote:
Originally Posted by mcfangz View Post
what should be done with the green/ground wire on the new cord?? thanx.
You don't need it. Cut it off or cap it. I would use a two wire cord instead.
junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 10:27 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Rewards Points: 0
Default

changing out old cord for drill


Cord and plug must be an assembly listed for the tool. You are not supposed to make cords like we all know we do......LOL.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 10:48 AM   #8
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 0
Default

changing out old cord for drill


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Cord and plug must be an assembly listed for the tool. You are not supposed to make cords like we all know we do......LOL.
Oops...

__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is my extension cord OK? MT Stringer Electrical 4 10-20-2009 07:25 AM
Please help, changing dryer cord from 3 prong to 4 prong oldpirate Electrical 8 08-10-2008 04:42 PM
Ele hot water tank and welder sharing circuit wazeaz Electrical 68 03-19-2008 07:17 PM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 09:58 PM
Do I have a 30 amp or 70 amp welder. And help wireing it. Tmb9862 Electrical 17 12-04-2006 09:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.