Changing My Garage Circuit From 15 To 20 Amp - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2014, 10:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 56
Default

changing my garage circuit from 15 to 20 amp


Hi all,

I opened all switches/receptacles/junction boxes in my garage and am certain that all wiring is 12-gauge. Is it safe to just change the breaker from 15 to 20 amp along with all the receptacles and switches? Or am I missing something?

Thanks

Advertisement

petermk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2014, 10:08 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

changing my garage circuit from 15 to 20 amp


Quote:
Originally Posted by petermk View Post
Hi all,

I opened all switches/receptacles/junction boxes in my garage and am certain that all wiring is 12-gauge. Is it safe to just change the breaker from 15 to 20 amp along with all the receptacles and switches? Or am I missing something?

Thanks
As long as it is all #12, good to go.
Switches and receptacles do not have to be 20 amp.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2014, 10:09 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,978
Rewards Points: 2,212
Default

changing my garage circuit from 15 to 20 amp


Quote:
Originally Posted by petermk View Post
Hi all,

I opened all switches/receptacles/junction boxes in my garage and am certain that all wiring is 12-gauge. Is it safe to just change the breaker from 15 to 20 amp along with all the receptacles and switches? Or am I missing something?

Thanks
Yes to the breaker, no need to change switches or receptacles if the switches are duplex.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2014, 10:22 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,041
Rewards Points: 2,880
Default

changing my garage circuit from 15 to 20 amp


Rarely does someone install a breaker smaller than the wiring can support. If it is all #12 you are good.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2014, 10:59 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 56
Default

changing my garage circuit from 15 to 20 amp


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Rarely does someone install a breaker smaller than the wiring can support. If it is all #12 you are good.
The wiring is brand new, while the breaker is old. There are two 3-way switches and one duplex 15 amp GFCI outlet.

Last edited by petermk; 11-23-2014 at 11:03 PM.
petermk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 01:59 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

changing my garage circuit from 15 to 20 amp


Double check the wiring between the 3 way switches and up to the light fixtures. That has to be 12 gauge as well in order for you to up the breaker to 20 amps.

Fifteen amp receptacles are okay on a 20 amp circuit as long as there are at least two receptacles of any description on that circuit -- for example one duplex or two round singles.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 03:58 PM   #7
Electrican
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,121
Rewards Points: 1,586
Default

changing my garage circuit from 15 to 20 amp


All explanations spot on. If all the wiring is #12 a 20amp is ok.
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 07:56 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 858
Rewards Points: 732
Default

changing my garage circuit from 15 to 20 amp


Quote:
Originally Posted by petermk View Post
all wiring is 12-gauge.
All means all. That is every piece of NM cable must be 12AWG or higher. Most, the majority, nearly all, all I could see, I'm thinking its 12AWG, don't do it. You need to be sure

Advertisement

curiousB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a circuit to a drywalled garage csm0017 Electrical 19 04-20-2012 01:38 PM
Expanding Garage INTO house (goodbye Den) texaopian Building & Construction 16 11-07-2011 11:32 PM
new garage circuit lendosky Electrical 4 10-28-2011 09:26 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts