Changing A Dimmer - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2008, 02:22 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Changing A Dimmer


Ok

So im trying for the first time to change out a light switch with a dimmer.
The dimmer is a Lutron Skylark S-600P-WH.
This has 3 wires - 2 blacks and one green ground.

So i turn of power at the junction box and take of switch casing.
This switch is only a year old its a standard on /off switch.
The switch has two black wires going to it.
Inside the gang box -I see the following -


The box has wires coming from above and below -

One black comes from the gangbox hole at the bottom, and into a cap.
The cap also contains the bottom black wire from the switch and one black wire coming from top hole to the left of the gangbox.

The 2nd black wire from the lightswitch (the one at the top of the switch) is going straight off and up the top of the gangbox via the right hole.


There is a White wire (neutral?) that comes form the bottom hole and into a Cap.
Then from the top left and right holes come 2 other white cables which are joined in the cap.

Finnally on the left top hole there is a red wire that comes out and just stops inside the box.(not connected to anything from what i can see)


So my question is - obviously i can tie in both black cables from the dimmer into the caps with the black cables currently attached to the switch.
but what do i do with the green cable from the dimmer?


Thanks for your help

Advertisement

badgerbrian1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 02:56 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Changing A Dimmer


Connect the greeen wire from the dimmer under the same wire nut (cap) with the bare wire from the other cables.

Advertisement

__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 03:34 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Changing A Dimmer


The white cables?
badgerbrian1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 04:22 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Changing A Dimmer


Green goes to BARE.


Green = ground = safety


If you have no bare or green wires in your box, some would suggest that you cut the gren wire off.....but then others would chime in and make a big fuss over how someone could somehow get killed by coming in hard contact with the coverplate screws while there was a fault in the dimmer.

Last edited by 220/221; 02-17-2008 at 04:27 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 04:43 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Changing A Dimmer


yeah i thought ground was saftey - just found it strage that this was put in just a year ago - and unless im missing something i dont see a ground screw in the box- and neither is theere a green ground wire or any bare copper wire - could i just screw a screw into the frame of the metalic box and ground it off to that?

thanks
badgerbrian1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 07:12 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Changing A Dimmer


So there is nothing i can do - if there is no ground in the box?
can i just leave the green wire on there coiled inside teh box - would rather not cut it off
badgerbrian1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 08:43 PM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,250
Rewards Points: 2,470
Default

Changing A Dimmer


Brian

The electrical code provides for using your dimmer when it is for replacement purposes only. If you have no grounding means in the wiring just cap the green wire or you can connect it to the box. It basically serves no purpose in your case. You must use a non-conductive cover plate not any that are metal.

If however someone has cut the ground wires then you will have to replace the wiring or get access to the cut ground wire. It sounds like your wiring does not contain an equipment ground . The only other thing would be if you have metal conduit instead of romex style cables. You can test for ground by simply touching a incoming hot wire with one probe and the other to the metal box.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 09:30 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Changing A Dimmer


All the electrical cable incoming before it reaches the actual box and is stripped is BX as far as i know.
Ok so il just cap the green.
All the coverplates in the house are plastic.

thankyou for your help
badgerbrian1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 10:15 PM   #9
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,250
Rewards Points: 2,470
Default

Changing A Dimmer


If your cable is BX and I mean the real McCoy and not AC cable then it technically cannot be used as ground but what I would do is connect the green wire to the metal box rather than cap it. A simple grounding clip like this will do with short piece of copper solid wire wirenutted to the green stranded and the solid under the clip. Your BX may not be the best ground but it is better than nothing...



Advertisement


Last edited by Stubbie; 02-17-2008 at 10:19 PM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dimmer switch circuit wiring stan_d_bballman Electrical 2 11-17-2007 12:44 AM
3 way dimmer ? DIY4EVER Electrical 1 11-12-2007 10:04 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 02:19 AM
When Bulb blows, Dimmer Switch Blows mAv19 Electrical 2 05-26-2006 04:52 PM
OK to user a dimmer with ceiling light? FreeCashBack.co.uk Electrical 2 06-19-2005 10:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts