Changing Breaker In Box With No Main Breaker - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2010, 11:50 AM   #1
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: California
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10

Changing breaker in box with no main breaker

Our house is at least 50 years old. The main box has 6 breakers in it, located just below the meter. I have not been able to find a main breaker, even though I can see the service coming in from the pole.

We've been having problems with ne circuit in the house - acts as if the breaker is tripped but it's not, then the circuit comes alive for again for no apparent reason. All the wires look tight. I'd like to replace the breaker in the main panel, but there is no main switch.

Is this something I should leave to an electrician? I've got all the right tools to do the job, but I know it would be safer if I could throw the main.

Any other ideas on the mysterious circuit? It does not seem to be related to load or weather, so I'm just replacing parts trying to figure out what it is. If the problem does not occur when the electrician is here, I'm not sure what they would do anyway -


jrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 11:55 AM   #2
Just call me Andrew
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,261
Rewards Points: 1,018

Older panels may not have a main breaker - it is code to have up to six breakers you must turn off to cut power to your house.

If you're not sure, I'd call an electrician.



secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 12:39 PM   #3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Rewards Points: 500

In the long run, it might be worth the expense to hire an electrician to replace the existing panel with one that does have a main breaker and has room for expansion, especially if you have plans for future additions.
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 12:46 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 10,234
Rewards Points: 622

Breaker can and do go bad, but not often in my experience. I suspect a loose connection in the circuit.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote

breaker , main panel

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Procedure for replacing MAIN CIRCUIT BREAKER? CJMEDINA Electrical 21 02-10-2010 03:17 PM
Main Breaker Tripped? twocycletim Electrical 5 12-31-2009 06:57 AM
changing main panel rustic Electrical 10 01-05-2009 09:35 AM
Main Breaker Trips Repeatedly kkf Electrical 7 06-18-2007 04:31 PM
HELP!!! Info on changing old fuse box to circuit breaker box BryanR Electrical 2 03-12-2006 04:26 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1