Changing 250 Volts Into 115 Volts - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2009, 03:58 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

changing 250 volts into 115 volts


Purchase an air condition that uses 115 volts , old outlet is 250 volts. My husband change the 250v with a 115 volt outlet, but the air condition keeps shutting down.

Advertisement

hottlilmama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 04:36 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,056
Rewards Points: 2,910
Default

changing 250 volts into 115 volts


Did he also change the wiring at the breaker panel? There is more to it than just changing the receptacle.

He may still be supplying 240 volts to the AC.

Advertisement

Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 04:40 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Columbia Heights/NE Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 86
Rewards Points: 75
Default

changing 250 volts into 115 volts


Did he change the wiring feeding the outlet to 120?

He, or an electrician, needs to do that from within the panel.

If not, that's going to be an issue...
thegonagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 05:58 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

changing 250 volts into 115 volts


I would hope that your husband knows enough that changing the receptacle alone won't change the voltage. If not, then he has no business doing the job, and should call a qualified electrician.

FW
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 06:47 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

changing 250 volts into 115 volts


Quote:
Originally Posted by KE2KB View Post
I would hope that your husband knows enough that changing the receptacle alone won't change the voltage. If not, then he has no business doing the job, and should call a qualified electrician.
Ding ding ding ding! We have a winner!
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 06:49 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

changing 250 volts into 115 volts


Considering it's been 3 hours, I highly doubt she will be back to admit this was actually the case.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 06:57 PM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

changing 250 volts into 115 volts


I am pretty sure some of the new A/C windowshakers do have low / hi voltage protection in the electronic contol board and if sense too high a voltage it will shut it down.

I agree with one poster that is the best answer for a while.


Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 09:57 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

changing 250 volts into 115 volts


I'm baaaaack to admit that was the case. Husband did not change the wiring in the breaker box. Will call electrician.
hottlilmama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 10:17 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

changing 250 volts into 115 volts


Quote:
Originally Posted by hottlilmama View Post
I'm baaaaack to admit that was the case. Husband did not change the wiring in the breaker box. Will call electrician.
Good choice, and make sure your husband doesn't try any other electrical work without first educating himself. There are lots of good books for DIY electrical.

FW
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 10:33 AM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

changing 250 volts into 115 volts


Quote:
Originally Posted by KE2KB View Post
Good choice, and make sure your husband doesn't try any other electrical work without first educating himself. There are lots of good books for DIY electrical.
Sound advice!

Next time it might not be just an air conditioner that dies.

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing ignition modules Mr Fix It HVAC 1 03-14-2009 06:31 PM
147 volts? gusco1 Electrical 15 11-13-2008 11:44 AM
Does Home AC ever read 0 volts? step.gary Electrical 3 07-01-2006 04:57 PM
103 volts at switch? hawk1996 Electrical 1 06-01-2005 07:16 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts