Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-02-2012, 04:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

changing a 240-277v strip light to a 120v


Ok so here's the deal. I got a really good deal on some shop lights but they will not run on 120 v. only 240-277v ... If i change the ballast on the lights to a 120v will the lights still work?

lilcricket350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 04:17 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,860
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

changing a 240-277v strip light to a 120v


Yes they will, but I hope you got a REALLY good deal, because you'll be into $20+ more for EACH one now.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
lilcricket350 (08-02-2012)
Old 08-02-2012, 04:28 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

changing a 240-277v strip light to a 120v


Well i got them for $15.00 bucks so im guessing $35.00 is way better than $65. Saved 30 per light. Oh and one more Q... does it matter what kind of ballast i go with? They have advance ballasts in them 240-277v so if i buy a 120v "advance" brand then i should be ok?
lilcricket350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 04:35 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

changing a 240-277v strip light to a 120v


I personally like the 7 dollar throw away shop lights at home depot... they last just about as long as the lamp, so I just buy complete new setups every so often...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 07:10 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,953
Rewards Points: 3,022
Default

changing a 240-277v strip light to a 120v


If there's a panel near by why not just add a double pole breaker and wire them 220?
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 08:10 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,860
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

changing a 240-277v strip light to a 120v


Quote:
Originally Posted by lilcricket350 View Post
They have advance ballasts in them 240-277v so if i buy a 120v "advance" brand then i should be ok?
ANY ballast will work in the right configuration.
Keep in mind, they were probably T12 ballasts and now pretty much all you can get is T8 Electronic ballasts.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 09:21 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

changing a 240-277v strip light to a 120v


You may save $30 per light, but how much time will you spend getting the ballasts and changing them? Time is money.

You can get 4' dual fluorescent fixtures at Home Depot for $20 plus $6 for the 2 lamps. That's under $30 in total when tax is added, and they are ready to go up without any fuss.

I've installed these fixtures often for a long time and I've never been called back to change a ballast.
Calc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 09:29 PM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

changing a 240-277v strip light to a 120v


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
If there's a panel near by why not just add a double pole breaker and wire them 220?
i would guess that they were designed to run on 277v three phase, which is 277v hot leg and neutral.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 06:40 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 296
Rewards Points: 250
Default

changing a 240-277v strip light to a 120v


If you have a lot of these, look for a box of ballasts on ebay.
ionized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 08:42 PM   #10
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

changing a 240-277v strip light to a 120v


What sockets are on these fixtures, slimline or HO?

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new light to existing switched light sirsparksalot Electrical 4 04-22-2011 03:23 PM
fan/light switch buzzing mjlocat Electrical 4 05-23-2010 02:44 PM
Problem changing light switch grgryl Electrical 14 08-10-2008 01:26 PM
changing a light switch switch configuration chriscathedral Electrical 7 07-20-2008 06:54 AM
Changing Light Fixture - Way too many wires and light wont switch off marapapa Electrical 3 01-13-2006 01:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.