Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-11-2010, 05:15 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

changing from 220v to 110v


hello, i have an expensive geman vaccum cleaner that we bought her in germany. we are scheduled to leave back to the states and the same vaccum cleaner in the states cost about $1,000. i would like to chnage the wiring from 220v to 110v. i know that i can use a converter, but that would be a hassle everytime we use it.
can anyone help me
thank you

g1latnlovr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 09:56 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 20
Default

changing from 220v to 110v


You're issue is not only voltage, but the 50/60Hz frequency conversion. I doubt your vacuum is rated for 60Hz.

behrend is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to behrend For This Useful Post:
g1latnlovr (06-12-2010)
Old 06-11-2010, 10:04 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Default

changing from 220v to 110v


hello, my vacum cleaner states
220v 50/60 hz
1900-2200wts
g1latnlovr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 10:32 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

changing from 220v to 110v


Quote:
Originally Posted by g1latnlovr View Post
hello, my vacum cleaner states
220v 50/60 hz
1900-2200wts
Thats not good. The motor is wound or interconnected for 220 volts. You could install a couple 220 receptacles to match the plug on the vacuum, but that would be a good bit of work.
I would take the vacuum once you get here to the states and have a motor shop quote you on a voltage change. They may not need to rewind it. See if this is economical to do. I doubt this is the best idea, but an idea none the less. Otherwise, I would sell it while you are in Germany and buy a new one when you get here in the US. Thats what I would do. Sell it before you move.

Google "European/US adapters" and see if anyone is offering a solution at a good price.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 10:39 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Default

changing from 220v to 110v


thank you, i will look into the european adapters for now. i have until next thursday to decide what i will do.
can i change the actual 220 wires that go to a ordinary table lamp to 110?
g1latnlovr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 04:50 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Owasso OK
Posts: 347
Default

changing from 220v to 110v


Someone a lot smarter than me will chime in, but US 220 uses two 110 legs and no neutral ....i THINK in Europe it's 220 on one leg and a neutral.
RoyalAcresRod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 06:40 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 14
Default

changing from 220v to 110v


Most of those adapters that are suitable for a motor/transformer are for very low wattage only and very hard to find. Because our tourists are looking to drop the voltage not raise it, best to sell it there.
DaleBelcher2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 08:24 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,859
Default

changing from 220v to 110v


Do you have 220 volt service in your home? (95% of homes in the U.S. do).

I would go the route of installing a few 220 volt receptacles, perhaps one on each floor in the hallway. Also make and use an extension cord.

Generally 50 Hz appliances that do not contain clocks or timers will work OK on 60 Hz but not vice versa.

A plain transformer of adequate wattage would also work but would probably be quite expensive.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 06-11-2010 at 08:30 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 08:33 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,859
Default

changing from 220v to 110v


It is a no-brainer to change a 220 volt incandescent light fixture to 110 volts. Simply change the plug and the light bulb.

Other kinds of fixtures (fluorescent etc.) are more complicated. The fixture innards (ballast etc.) must allow reconfiguration or rewiring for 110 volts.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
g1latnlovr (06-12-2010)
Old 06-11-2010, 09:38 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

changing from 220v to 110v


2200w @ 110v would be 20A. Do you have 20A breakers in your house?
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 02:28 AM   #11
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

changing from 220v to 110v


The other item you will run into is the type of 240 volt North Americian Receptales { Sockets } they are different than what we used in Europe side.

You may end up change the plug itself to work on 240 volts however if your vaccum cleaner is double insulated that is not a issue but if have ground wire a quick tip is get a ohmmeter and read the netural conductor to the vacumm cleaner frame to make sure they are not bonded if that the case you will have to isolated the netural conductor or make a new connection with grounding conductor.

I will remind you the North Americian colour format.{ I will list the hardwired first then corded verison next }

Hardwired { standard building cable or conductors }

Line 1 - Black
Line 2 - Red
Netural - White
Earth - Green { Ground }

Cord
three conductor verison will have little diffrent than hardwire verison is

Black
White { you will have to remark this if you are going to use on 240 volt circuit}
Green

If your cord do have earth pin then it will be fine with that part.

Merci, Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
g1latnlovr (06-12-2010)
Old 06-12-2010, 02:37 AM   #12
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

changing from 220v to 110v


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
2200w @ 110v would be 20A. Do you have 20A breakers in your house?
we have 120 vac in the US, not 110. that would make it 18.3 amps. For limited use, a 20 amp breaker should hold.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 02:43 AM   #13
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

changing from 220v to 110v


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
2200w @ 110v would be 20A. Do you have 20A breakers in your house?
Yoyizit reread the OP statement again they are sheduled to go back to USA soon so they did not get the house yet but they are asking a advanced question to prepared for it.

Second thing Yoyizit grab your favour DVM and read the 120 volt circuit and report back to either Moi or Nap otherwise I will put up the Conneries meter back up.

Merci,Marc

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main box feeding 220v and 110v brearker box off a 50am breaker? uvamosk Electrical 30 10-14-2009 10:46 PM
Adding 110V outlets to 220V line MarcG Electrical 25 04-29-2009 06:04 AM
Convert 220V to 110V wrldruler Electrical 13 09-15-2008 11:55 AM
110v vs. 220v gunboatbay Electrical 17 05-15-2008 08:09 AM
220v from 110v leboyd Electrical 6 03-19-2006 08:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.