Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-14-2013, 01:40 PM   #16
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Changing to 200 amp service, underground. Need guidance please!


Quote:
Originally Posted by rferoni View Post
They are fused. My service goes from meter to a 60 amp fused pullout to main panel. Info is in original post. As for your question no the meter is a good 15' away.

Ron
But you posted this,
Quote:
Originally Posted by rferoni View Post
If allowed I think all I'll then have to do is run a separate ground from the new 200 amp panel to the sub-panel and isolate all grounds and neutrals in the sub panel.

Thanks again,
Ron

So im confused... Why would you have to run a separate ground? It should have already been run from the 60 amp disconnect.

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 01:56 PM   #17
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Changing to 200 amp service, underground. Need guidance please!


My guess is that the feeders are in EMT or Rigid.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 01:58 PM   #18
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Changing to 200 amp service, underground. Need guidance please!


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
My guess is that the feeders are in EMT or Rigid.
Possibly... You never see that in my area, you have a better chance of seeing SEU run from the disconnect to the panel...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 02:04 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Changing to 200 amp service, underground. Need guidance please!


Ah. I see now what you are saying. Current set-up has only two conductors and neutral going to main panel from meter. We just bought house so not sure how long ago all this was done or who did the work. Didn't 4 wires(two hots, neutral and ground) to a sub panel just become code in 2008'? I know the house was built late 50's.

PS..There is no conduit. The feeders from disconnect to panel is a multi-conductor wire as stated above.

Ron

Last edited by rferoni; 04-14-2013 at 02:06 PM. Reason: added ps
rferoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 02:06 PM   #20
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Changing to 200 amp service, underground. Need guidance please!


Quote:
Originally Posted by rferoni View Post
Ah. I see now what you are saying. Current set-up has only two conductors and neutral going to main panel from meter. We just bought house so not sure how long ago all this was done or who did the work. Didn't 4 wires(two hots, neutral and ground) to a sub panel just become code in 2008'? I know the house was built late 50's.

Ron
Um, no... you were always only allowed to bond the neutral once, and it had to take place at the first disconnect.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 02:40 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Changing to 200 amp service, underground. Need guidance please!


So I just looked at what is going on in my setup. Service goes into 60 amp disconnect and a 6-3 wire leaves 60 amp disconnect and goes to main panel. One black goes to one side of bus bar, red to other, white to neutral bar. I do see a big ground wire(not sure size)to the ground bar but do not know where it comes from. I know the grounds in this house(to all fixtures) were run seperately as all the wiring is two wire only, no ground. Does that tell you anything?


Ron
rferoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 03:03 PM   #22
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Changing to 200 amp service, underground. Need guidance please!


Quote:
Originally Posted by rferoni View Post
So I just looked at what is going on in my setup. Service goes into 60 amp disconnect and a 6-3 wire leaves 60 amp disconnect and goes to main panel. One black goes to one side of bus bar, red to other, white to neutral bar. I do see a big ground wire(not sure size)to the ground bar but do not know where it comes from. I know the grounds in this house(to all fixtures) were run seperately as all the wiring is two wire only, no ground. Does that tell you anything?


Ron
The ground you speak of sounds like a GEC, which should have landed at the disconnect... take a picture if you want. Best way since it ends all the guess work.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 03:55 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Changing to 200 amp service, underground. Need guidance please!


Quote:
Originally Posted by bcgfdc3 View Post

Is that Current Carrying conductors? Does that include the nuetral?
For your application, yes.
ren79eg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 05:31 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Changing to 200 amp service, underground. Need guidance please!


I wasn't sure what GEC meant so I looked it up. Grounding electrode conductor. The ground to the grounding rod. There are no grounding rods in this house. However it looks like the ground wire that I wasn't sure about in the main panel goes to the incoming side of the water meter.

Can't get pics to trun out right.

Ron

rferoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
overhead service to underground smichaelp Electrical 16 04-10-2012 12:02 PM
Moving electric service entrance to detached garage WillK Electrical 7 10-05-2011 10:13 PM
Relocating Service Drop/Weatherhead Pittsville Electrical 8 08-19-2011 06:52 PM
Service mast options bsperr Electrical 6 12-09-2009 08:48 AM
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 10:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.