Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-14-2012, 04:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

Changed receptacles in bedroom, now no power


I changed the recepticles in the bedroom, after I turned the power back on there was no power. Double checked all the wiring. Everything is fine. Tested the continuity on the breaker. There is power coming out of the breaker switch but none upstairs. I have tested for power at all wires in the bedroom and have no power anywhere (in the bedroom). What should I do next?

Last edited by Mrjman; 09-14-2012 at 06:25 PM. Reason: Clarification
Mrjman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 05:28 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,075
Default

Changed receptacles in bedroom, now no power


1- Moving the wires around has caused a broken wire or loose connecttion.

2 - Something wired wrong.

3 - You have shorted something and blown a breaker or gfci.

Have you removed all wires from the new recepticules and tested them !
Please post results, and tell us how many wires and what colors !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 05:41 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8
Post

Changed receptacles in bedroom, now no power


I removed all the wires and tested each one.
No power detected
All the wires are black and white.
I double checked everything and it's all wired as it should be black on brass and white on silver
I even moved the wire from the breaker to another one and still no result
The last thing I did in a moment of desperation was to hook the old recepticles back up. Still no luck
There is 1 GFCI on this circuit and it was not blown. It is also at the end of the circuit and wired to protect only itself.
I took these steps when I tested the breaker:
Turned off power, removed breaker from bus
Checked for continuity by placing common lead (black) where breaker attaches to bus and hot(red) to screw where black wire leaves breaker.
When I pushed the breaker off there was nothing. When I pushed it on I got tone. My thoughts are a broken wire leading into bedroom or I tested the breaker wrong and it is bad.

Last edited by Mrjman; 09-14-2012 at 05:59 PM. Reason: Adding info
Mrjman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 06:17 PM   #4
Pure Genius
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 219
Default

Changed receptacles in bedroom, now no power


Is there by chance a switch in the bedroom that controls receptacles?
Dierte is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 06:21 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Changed receptacles in bedroom, now no power


Yes switch controls 2 of 4 recepticles. Switch is on and tested for continuity
Mrjman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 06:35 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,075
Default

Changed receptacles in bedroom, now no power


Is there any power at these switchs ?

Test for power at the breaker also !

Are you 100% sure you have the correct breaker ?
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 06:37 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Changed receptacles in bedroom, now no power


No the whole circuit is out
Mrjman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 06:39 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Changed receptacles in bedroom, now no power


Yes I'm absolutely positive I have the right breaker. It's the only one that was off while I was replacing the recepticles
Mrjman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 09:19 PM   #9
Pure Genius
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 219
Default

Changed receptacles in bedroom, now no power


What are you using to test power
Dierte is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 09:55 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,075
Default

Changed receptacles in bedroom, now no power


First test your tester !
Use a known good source.
If its ok, test the load side of the relevent breaker,
If theres power there, but not at the outlet or switch,
Then its obvious that you have a broken wire or joint.
Just moving around old wires can sometimes break them,
they can become brittle if they havent moved in a long time.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmxtothemax For This Useful Post:
Mrjman (09-14-2012)
Old 09-15-2012, 08:28 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8
Smile

Changed receptacles in bedroom, now no power


I just bought the tester yesterday. I did, however test it on a working socket and got the expected result. Thanks for your help. I'm going to change out the breaker just to make sure that's not the problem. If I still have no power in the bedroom then I'm going to have to call an electrician becaus tracing a break and running new wire is a little beyond my realm of expertise and equipment budget.
Mrjman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 08:31 AM   #12
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 478
Default

Changed receptacles in bedroom, now no power


duplicate
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 08:32 AM   #13
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 478
Default

Changed receptacles in bedroom, now no power


Does the circuit have a ground/bare wire?
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 11:28 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8
Unhappy

Changed receptacles in bedroom, now no power


I went back today to do a little more investigation. I found there are more recepticles in front of the room without power. So far I have found no loose wires in the ones up front. I'm still not sure which recepticle leads into the room without power. Me thinks it's time to call in a professional. Thank you all for helping me troubleshoot.
Mrjman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 11:46 AM   #15
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Changed receptacles in bedroom, now no power


Cable or conduit in your home? You most likely pulled a neutral loose when you took out a receptacle, or didn't re-connect it. Do you have power to ground and what type of tester are you using?
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Solar at the cottage? Tito1800 Home Theater 2 01-18-2012 02:30 PM
No Power in bedroom FoxyRoxy Electrical 3 09-26-2011 04:54 AM
Dishwasher Power Supply Captain.Sassy Electrical 14 09-14-2011 05:28 AM
No power to outlets and ceiling fans in living room and Master bedroom? boneglove Electrical 12 03-27-2011 07:32 PM
Power Save Device capt2 Electrical 52 02-24-2010 06:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.