Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-30-2009, 10:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Share |
Question

Changed outlets, half don't work


1st post!!! Long time forum user (usually auto), but first time on an home improvement one. Just bought my first house so I look forward to a long relationship with you all.

I attempted one of my many projects I have planned this past weekend...changing the ugly ivory outlets to white outlets. I'm pretty sure I wired it all corrrectly as it wasn't rocket science. After I was done only some of them work, and some, one-outlet doesn't work on the 2-outlet panel.

I tried reseting the breaker through the main switch and no luck. I tried turning off each one individually and back on and no luck.

Can anyone help and point to what I did?

P.s. wierd thing is, the oven doesn't have power and I didn't change the one behind it. weird

Any help is appreciated more than you know.

-Jason


Last edited by nighthawk87; 06-30-2009 at 10:15 PM.
nighthawk87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 10:21 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Changed outlets, half don't work


How many outlets did you replace?
Are outlets that were NOT replaced not working?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nighthawk87 View Post
After I was done only some of them work, and some, one-outlet doesn't work on the 2-outlet panel.

I tried reseting the breaker through the main switch and no luck. I tried turning off each one individually and back on and no luck.

P.s. wierd thing is, the oven doesn't have power and I didn't change the one behind it. weird

Any help is appreciated more than you know.

-Jason
Were the outlets working before you swapped them?
Was this house at some point, before purchase for a while?

Are you sure the breakers went all the way on?
Try shutting them off all the way, then on

If the Stove isn't working it sounds like one hot from the panel is dead


Last edited by Scuba_Dave; 06-30-2009 at 10:26 PM.
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 10:24 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Changed outlets, half don't work


Quote:
wierd thing is, the oven doesn't have power and I didn't change the one behind it. weird
Your main breaker didn't reset. Half the circuits will be dead. I bet when you turn the oven on, all receps will "work".

Turn it off and on again...a couple times.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 10:40 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Changed outlets, half don't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
How many outlets did you replace?
Are outlets that were NOT replaced not working?



Were the outlets working before you swapped them?
Was this house at some point, before purchase for a while?

Are you sure the breakers went all the way on?
Try shutting them off all the way, then on

If the Stove isn't working it sounds like one hot from the panel is dead
I replaced about 3 in the kitchen, 6 in the living room, 1 in the bathroom, 3 in the bedroom, 3 in the other bedroom, 1 in the master bathroom. Some work, some don't, and some "half-work" with only one outlet on the panel working.

All breakers are facing the same direction and power is on to the house. I tried already shutting off each individiually and turning back on. That didn't work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Your main breaker didn't reset. Half the circuits will be dead. I bet when you turn the oven on, all receps will "work".

Turn it off and on again...a couple times.
How can I turn the oven on if it doesn't have power? Please clarify further.


Thanks for suggestions so far, keep 'em coming. I'd be so happy if I can solve this and eat dinner tonight
nighthawk87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 10:51 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Changed outlets, half don't work


If you have a range or oven with knob controls, turn them to the on position and check the receps.

If you turned off the main, (you didn't verify that) I am 90% certain that it didn't reset.

It happens.

Bad news is, sometimes it WON'T reset and you will have to replace it.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 10:55 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Changed outlets, half don't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
If you have a range or oven with knob controls, turn them to the on position and check the receps.

If you turned off the main, (you didn't verify that) I am 90% certain that it didn't reset.

It happens.

Bad news is, sometimes it WON'T reset and you will have to replace it.
The oven is operated by buttons on the top, it is a new GE oven. Normally the clock would be there but its not.

I have turned off the main power to the house a bunch of times on and off. I have turned off each individual switch off and on once. Still no power.
nighthawk87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 11:20 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Changed outlets, half don't work


Any other 240v stuff?

Dryer, AC, water heater?

See if the dryer works. Make sure it gets hot (the motor is 120V)

Is there only one main breaker? Is it inside or outside? If inside, check outside too. Main fuses anywhere???
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 11:22 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Changed outlets, half don't work


I think I only have the one outside.
nighthawk87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 11:25 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Changed outlets, half don't work


I have power to both washer and dryer, which are in the garage. I walk from garage into kitchen where half of the outlets don't work.

-Fridge works
-Microwave above oven works
-Garbage disposal works
-dishwasher works.

I'm so confused.....
nighthawk87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 11:34 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Changed outlets, half don't work


You need a voltage tester.

Are you 100% sure the dryer gets hot?
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 11:49 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Changed outlets, half don't work


Well, my stuff works so I am going to bed
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:01 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Changed outlets, half don't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by nighthawk87 View Post
I have turned off the main power to the house a bunch of times on and off. I have turned off each individual switch off and on once. Still no power.
When you shut off the breakers, you have to actually pull it towards the off position in some cases. Then it will "cacth" & turn it back on

Were the outlets working before you swapped them?
Was this house empty at some point, before purchase for a while?

Quote:
some "half-work" with only one outlet on the panel working
What do you mean 1/2 work in the panel?
Some of what only half work in the breaker panel?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 04:15 PM   #13
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 90
Default

Changed outlets, half don't work


I'm guessing they are wired throught the recept? Wire on each screw. Sounds to me like you might have some bad connections or bad recepts.
Did you turn off the stove by accident and the breaker won't reset or is bad?
jbberns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 04:18 PM   #14
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 90
Default

Changed outlets, half don't work


Does the old wire have a ground? If not and you put in grounding receptacles you have to have gfci protection or run a ground to each outlet. But has nothing to do with why it's not working
jbberns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 11:23 AM   #15
Rey
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Changed outlets, half don't work


Jason... if you have a GFCI receptacles anywhere in the house.. try to reset them all...there is a chance that some of your outlets are connected to to these GFCI receptacles or outlets... specially in the bathrooms, kitchen and basements...
Hope this will solve your problem.

Rey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correcting 40+ years of screwy wiring Badfish740 Electrical 3 12-28-2008 09:19 PM
outlets work, but barely (?) joeyboy Electrical 7 08-27-2008 08:37 AM
Ranting about attic work IvoryRing Electrical 6 04-16-2008 07:21 AM
Question about wiring outlets together firemanpato Electrical 5 01-05-2008 03:52 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.