Change Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2012, 08:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Change switch


Remodeling bath. Installed new recessed lite using switch that previously controlled vanity. Lite works but not switch. When energized, lite stays on but switch doesn't turn off.

What did I do wrong?

Advertisement

Dollardude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 08:31 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,992
Rewards Points: 2,782
Default

Change switch


You apparently hooked the light up to a constant hot.

If you describe the wiring perhaps someone will see the mistake.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 08:37 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,709
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Change switch


Does the incoming power go to the light first then jump off the black down to the light?
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 08:38 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,337
Rewards Points: 3,468
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Change switch


You hooked it up wrong.
We can't see what you did and we are not psychics so you are going to have to give us a bit more info to be able to identify the problem.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 09:08 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Change switch


I ran hot wire to lite and then spliced the switch cable at the lite
Dollardude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 09:19 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,992
Rewards Points: 2,782
Default

Change switch


The black incoming would splice to the white going to the switch. The fixture would connect the black to the black coming up from the switch. Fixture white to incoming white.

The white should be re-identified as a hot with black tape at both ends.

This install would not be code compliant if your area has adopted the 2011 NEC. You need a neutral at the switch.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Dollardude (01-09-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 08:25 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 07:43 PM
3-way switch help amit Electrical 17 02-15-2010 04:17 PM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 07:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts