Change Rotation On Dual Speed 115v Motor - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2014, 12:37 AM   #16
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,227
Rewards Points: 2,424
Default

Change rotation on dual speed 115v motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert M View Post
Crap... so in other words I'm SOL unless I take it to a motor shop?
If I only plan on using the low speed, is there any way to just cut out the high speed so I am only dealing with the low windings and start windings?

The only way I can see would be to try to reverse install the commutator. Swap the end cap with the commutator 180 degrees.
You would have to mark each wire and extend them to the other end of the motor. the big question is will the windings allow the commutator to be reversed and still spin.

Advertisement

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2014, 02:23 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Robert M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Apple Valley, Ca
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Change rotation on dual speed 115v motor


I might go out and try swapping the ends. I saw a video about doing that so I might as well give it a shot. I have lots of wire and terminals to extend them. But, if that doesn't work I think I'm going to fab up a motor bracket and just flip the motor upside down to be done with this. Thanks for all the help guys!
Robert M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2014, 06:46 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 296
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Change rotation on dual speed 115v motor


This may be a really stupid question, but can the OP just dispense with the connected high speed and start windings and start the motor manually (spin the shaft) in what direction is desired?
ionized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2014, 08:20 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Robert M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Apple Valley, Ca
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Change rotation on dual speed 115v motor


I did that by disconnecting the cap but I really don't want to have to start my drill press by spinning it by hand. I've spend some time today fab'n up a new mount to invert the motor. Depending on how the final outcome is, I may just keep it this way.
Robert M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 11:30 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 296
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Change rotation on dual speed 115v motor


OK, as I read the thread, I recalled seeing a motor or two being started that way as a child. It may have been a been belt sander, bench grinder or the like. It is certainly possible that they were defective and were not really designed to be used that way.
ionized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 12:15 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Change rotation on dual speed 115v motor


if it is a belt driven drill press just cross the belt to a figure 8.this way it will run backwards from the motor.
circuitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 01:30 PM   #22
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,377
Rewards Points: 3,548
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Change rotation on dual speed 115v motor


Here are the two speed motor drawings. Same deal. Fiure out which two wires are the start winding and reverse them.



__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 01:33 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Robert M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Apple Valley, Ca
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Change rotation on dual speed 115v motor


Spent a few hours yesterday making a new mount to flip the motor and it was all for nothing. All went well up until the test run when I found out the motors output wasn't very much stronger then the crappy HF motor that came with the drill press. On the test run, the motor stalled out trying to drill into 1/8'' steel with a 3/8'' bit. which was the whole purpose of doing the upgrade in the first place. So it looks like I'm going back to the drawing board for this one.
Thank you guys for all the help. I'm sure I'll be back with a few more questions.

Last edited by Robert M; 02-05-2014 at 01:36 PM.
Robert M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 12:15 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 236
Rewards Points: 180
Default

Change rotation on dual speed 115v motor


think you have a problem with your drill, i have a 3/4 hp press drill and can make a lot larger holes than that before motor slow down
carmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 12:34 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Robert M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Apple Valley, Ca
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Change rotation on dual speed 115v motor


I don't know how it would be a problem with the drill and not the motor but ok...
Robert M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 04:43 PM   #26
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,506
Default

Change rotation on dual speed 115v motor


Look at the motor nameplate. It lists the FLA as 11.6- 2.5

If you reduce the amperage when you go to low speed, you are reducing the HP. It is no longer producing the 1.125 HP. My guestimate is you were getting something slightly less than 1/3 HP.

Sounds like an above ground pool/spa motor.

Either run the thing at high speed and use intermediate gearing to slow the speed down to your desired rpm, or get another motor.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 07:18 PM   #27
Newbie
 
Robert M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Apple Valley, Ca
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Change rotation on dual speed 115v motor


New motor is the next step. Thinking about doing the treadmill motor swap if I can get all the components put together for cheap.
Robert M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2014, 11:59 AM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 236
Rewards Points: 180
Default

Change rotation on dual speed 115v motor


it didnt know that you were using low speed, so motor was actually about 1/4hp like oso954 said

you can get a new 3/4hp motor for 111$ i dont know if that is ok for your budget
http://www.automationdirect.com/adc/.../MTR-P75-1AB18

Advertisement

carmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Ceiling Fan (In Parallel) Speed Control JeffW650 Electrical 5 12-01-2013 12:19 AM
Lennox Furnace Fan Motor Speed gimel HVAC 3 08-06-2012 11:54 AM
wiring a three speed motor . juan devero HVAC 4 03-05-2012 10:57 PM
3 speed blower motor don treat Electrical 0 02-05-2012 12:05 PM
Slowing fan motor speed in air handler Manuel6 HVAC 7 04-17-2007 10:01 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts