Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2012, 06:50 PM   #16
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,687
Share |
Default

Central air wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Also, don't have to run a new wire down the road if he adds on and needs to increase the size of the A/C to something that has a min cir amp of 25.

No real cost difference between 10 and 12.
# 12 AWG is good for 25 amps by the way...

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 06:54 PM   #17
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,506
Default

Central air wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
yes, there is... I personally would wire the unit with 14 AWG.

I probably charge more for 12-2 then you do for 10-2. The cost difference between the 2 is small enough, that I prefer to use 10-2.

A lot of the ones that have 12-2 will get a hard start kit down the road. meaning that the customer saved no money in the long run.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 06:55 PM   #18
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,687
Default

Central air wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
I probably charge more for 12-2 then you do for 10-2. The cost difference between the 2 is small enough, that I prefer to use 10-2.

A lot of the ones that have 12-2 will get a hard start kit down the road. meaning that the customer saved no money in the long run.
Im not going to argue this, but you are wasting someones money... The unit will run perfectly fine on 14 AWG... enough said. The voltage drop will remain the same regardless if you ran 14, 12, 10, 8, or # 6...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 07:05 PM   #19
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,506
Default

Central air wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Im not going to argue this, but you are wasting someones money... The unit will run perfectly fine on 14 AWG... enough said. The voltage drop will remain the same regardless if you ran 14, 12, 10, 8, or # 6...
You run wires to them when they are new. I fix them years down the road. I see a difference in equipment performance/operation between the wire sizes.

Go look at some units that have been running on min wire size for 12 years. Specially those that have 80 foot or more to get to them. Most will have had hard starts put on them. Or compressors changed out.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 07:46 PM   #20
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,687
Default

Central air wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
You run wires to them when they are new. I fix them years down the road. I see a difference in equipment performance/operation between the wire sizes.

Go look at some units that have been running on min wire size for 12 years. Specially those that have 80 foot or more to get to them. Most will have had hard starts put on them. Or compressors changed out.
I don't care what size wire was run, the hard start kit would still be installed. You're not really making any sense?

Last edited by stickboy1375; 10-07-2012 at 08:13 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 08:35 PM   #21
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,506
Default

Central air wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
I don't care what size wire was run, the hard start kit would still be installed. You're not really making any sense?
No, the voltage drop increases on start up. Takes longer to get the compressor off of LRA, the longer its on LRA, the less life span it has.

Larger wire has less voltage drop. Compressor starts quicker. Hard start is not needed. Won't hurt it, just an additional device, and more cost to the home owner/equipment owner, cause they saved a few pennies on wire.

But hey, I like the money I make cause the smallest wire size was used.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 08:38 PM   #22
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,687
Default

Central air wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
No, the voltage drop increases on start up. Takes longer to get the compressor off of LRA, the longer its on LRA, the less life span it has.

Larger wire has less voltage drop. Compressor starts quicker. Hard start is not needed. Won't hurt it, just an additional device, and more cost to the home owner/equipment owner, cause they saved a few pennies on wire.

But hey, I like the money I make cause the smallest wire size was used.
Ummm, your missing the fact that the voltage drop is caused by the utility company, like I earlier stated, run 14, 12, 10, hell, run 1/0.. The same voltage drop is goin to occur.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 08:46 PM   #23
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,506
Default

Central air wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post


Ummm, your missing the fact that the voltage drop is caused by the utility company, like I earlier stated, run 14, 12, 10, hell, run 1/0.. The same voltage drop is goin to occur.

No, length of wire, and gauge of wire also cause voltage drop. You keep thinking your way. I'll keep making money from it.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 08:47 PM   #24
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,687
Default

Central air wiring question


You do realize the minimum circuit ampacity has already had 125% added to it, right? So how much more do you want to increase the wire size?

You're just ripping people off with your own self justification of how a unit should be wired.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 10-07-2012 at 08:49 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 08:50 PM   #25
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,506
Default

Central air wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
You do realize the minimum circuit amps city has already had 125% added to it, right? So how much more do you want to increase the wire size?
Min circuit amp is 125% of the RLA of the largest motor, plus the RLA/FLA of all other motors. Its not 125% of all of the motors.

I just run the wire size for the max amp protection. Or sometimes the size between min and max. Depending on length, and application.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 09:05 PM   #26
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Central air wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Glennsparky View Post
Upgrade the wire a little and you can recoup your investment with lower bills.

...........
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 11:09 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 215
Default

Central air wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
No idea how long his run is. but less voltage drop on those hot days when the compressor has to start. Also, don't have to run a new wire down the road if he adds on and needs to increase the size of the A/C to something that has a min cir amp of 25.

No real cost difference between 10 and 12.
The run is only about 15 feet and I already had the 10-2 anyway so it should be good for any needed upgrades in the future.
sgip2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 11:28 PM   #28
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,506
Default

Central air wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by sgip2000 View Post
The run is only about 15 feet and I already had the 10-2 anyway so it should be good for any needed upgrades in the future.
Yep, your good if you would ever need to increase size by a ton or so.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 12:59 AM   #29
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Oviedo, FL near Orlando
Posts: 227
Default

Central air wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
If you use a fused disconnect it has to be #10 to the disco, then #12 to the unit. Non fused can be #12 from the panel all the way.
Thanks electures, I didn't know that. Do you have a code reference so i can study up?
Glennsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 02:04 AM   #30
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Oviedo, FL near Orlando
Posts: 227
Default

Central air wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
What are you talking about, if this was true he should be wiring it with #6 or #4 to save even more money.
Yes, it would save more money, on bills, but there's a point of diminishing returns; where the cost of wire won't be recouped over the life of the A/C. And I did say "longer runs." Wire gives off heat. This is wasted power. Bigger wire, less heat. The formula is Voltage Drop times Amps equals line loss in Watts(W). Look at it like this. You pay for voltage ( x amps=W) at the meter. There is Voltage Drop (VD) in the wire. http://calculator.net/voltage-drop-c...s=15&x=53&y=20 You get to use less volts (x amps=W) at the load. So, you paid for more power than you get to use. Unfortunately, what saves money in Florida is not worth it in the Frozen North. We run big A/C's 24/7, ten months a year with wire runs in 180 degree F spaces. You run A/C two months, daylight only.


Last edited by Glennsparky; 10-08-2012 at 03:05 AM.
Glennsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AC wiring question? Ralph III Electrical 4 03-04-2012 10:52 AM
Simple question regarding Wall Switch wiring kebrein Electrical 6 11-25-2011 07:54 PM
Landscape wiring question: GFCI and Breaker Amp MikeInDetroit Electrical 0 11-02-2011 09:43 AM
Low Voltage Wiring Question.. scyarch Electrical 3 10-23-2011 11:00 AM
central air unit question princessme HVAC 4 07-08-2006 09:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.