Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-03-2009, 11:05 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Lightbulb

ceiling lighting using electrical receptacle with no switch

Hi. Iím along time reader & this is my first post to this board. I am a novice DIYer. I do a lot of reading on electricity and understand general basic concepts but the extent of my experience is changing several outlets, switches and fixtures. Hopefully you guys can help me with my scenario.

I have a room, about 9 X 15, which can be accessed from 2 different entry points. The room is an addition to the home, built at least 30-40 years ago on top of a crawl space, and only has two surface mounted (not flush) receptacles, located by each door. There is no overhead lighting, and I assume that there is no wiring in the walls and ceilings for a switched light. Iím assuming that the previous owners lit the room with desk and floor lamps.

I want to add some type of lighting but do not want to start with opening walls & ceilings and then need to patch and paint them up. I can come up with two possible options. One is to convert one of the outlet boxes to a junction box and run wiring for a switch & ceiling fixture through wire mold. If I do this, do I need a ceiling box for the fixture or can I just screw it in to the ceiling?

The other option is track light that plugs in to the receptacles. This is probably the easiest way, but seems inconvenient because there is no switch and I would need to plug and unplug it for each use. A switched receptacle would be nice, but once Iím starting with that and would need wire mold for the switch I may as well do the first option and install a flight fixture.

Do you guys have any advice or other ideas? I appreciate your help!

cedar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 12:22 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,000

Quote: