Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-20-2011, 03:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Ceiling Fan Light Blown


I was trying to identify which breakers covered which rooms. After completing this task, both lights in my Twin Ceiling Fan were blown. Bought new 75watt screw-in halogen bulbs and replaced them. The lights still won't come on. The fan works fine. HELP PLEASE!!
Attached Thumbnails
Ceiling Fan Light Blown-ceiling-fan-004.jpg   Ceiling Fan Light Blown-ceiling-fan-005.jpg  

bertjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 05:58 PM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Ceiling Fan Light Blown


I know you say fan work fine but not the lights so therefore do you have dimmer switch for the lights if so replace the dimmer { test with simple toggle switch to rule it out } if toggle switch part work with light then the dimmer is shot.

When the bulb burn out some case it can actaully wreck the dimmer swtich I have see that quite few time. { the current surge will kill them when the bulb start to arc aka burn out }

Merci.
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 06:05 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Ceiling Fan Light Blown


No dimmer switch for the lights. There is a remote control and no pull cords. I have the unit hooked up to two light switches, then use the remote for the fan option.
bertjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 06:15 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Ceiling Fan Light Blown


Ok as you say no dimmer on this unit at all and the remote do not have dimmer feature hook up then you will have to check the connection at the centre dome { bottom part } to make sure the connections are tight some case you may find them get loosen up.

Once a while you may find a wattage limter device in there it may look like little black box IIRC if so try bypass it that will useally take care of that and double check the reciver remote unit on way the top where the remote controller located to double check if the lights are hooked up or not.

Hope that help you with it.

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to install a new ceiling light in an old house Yikes Electrical 2 07-25-2010 11:49 PM
Please Help! 3 way switches controling 2 light fxtures. HelloMotto Electrical 50 09-01-2009 08:20 PM
Light fixture in a drop ceiling? kosherdill Electrical 1 03-01-2009 12:23 PM
Recessed Light on Curved Ceiling? mfleming Electrical 2 10-31-2008 06:53 PM
Ceiling light abuse! shurik57 Electrical 5 11-26-2007 10:30 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.