Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-17-2012, 07:20 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Ceiling Fan and Existing 3 way Switch Wiring


I have a new ceiling fan and wiring that I ran in my living room. However, the 3 way switches are causing my some trouble. I can't get it wired correctly to my existing 3 way switches that control the top receptacle outlets around the room. The ceiling fan wire was run from the ceiling to a box that does not have the power from the breaker, it is run to the other 3 way switch. My preference would be to replace the 3 way switch with a 2 way and have it run the light kit on the fan and a 3 speed knob switch for the fan.

The first primary box that contains the black and white feed as well as a 14/3 cable with red, white and black.

The second box contains 14/3 a red, white and black as well as the 14/3 ceiling fan cable that has red, white and black. There is no hot from the breaker run to this box currently.

Let me know what questions you. Thanks in advance.

brewtus32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 07:32 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,349
Default

Ceiling Fan and Existing 3 way Switch Wiring


Your post is confusing.
Where does the cable for the new fan run? What cable did you use? 14/3? 14/2?
How is the cable run between the switches and the power source and the switched receptacles? Do you want the receptacles to still be switched?

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 07:34 AM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Ceiling Fan and Existing 3 way Switch Wiring


If I'm reading your post correctly, you will not be able to do what you want to do.

You don't have a constant hot at the second 3 way switch location.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 11:08 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Ceiling Fan and Existing 3 way Switch Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Your post is confusing.
Where does the cable for the new fan run? What cable did you use? 14/3? 14/2?
How is the cable run between the switches and the power source and the switched receptacles? Do you want the receptacles to still be switched?
new fan cable runs to box 2 using 14/3.

i believe that there is a 14/3 wire run between the switches that also controls the outlets. I want at least one switch to still control the outlets but I am fine removing one of the 3 way switches.
brewtus32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 11:10 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Ceiling Fan and Existing 3 way Switch Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
If I'm reading your post correctly, you will not be able to do what you want to do.

You don't have a constant hot at the second 3 way switch location.
--Is it possible to eliminate the 3 way switch(es), use a single pole in box 1 and use the 14/3 wire nut to the constant hot to send power from box 1 to box 2? I don't know how this would impact the switches.
brewtus32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 11:33 AM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Ceiling Fan and Existing 3 way Switch Wiring


Probably not. Wiring wise it is possible and really, very easy, but eliminating that first three way switch would most likely violate code. You must have a way to turn on a light or outlet at the entrance to the room.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 11:36 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Ceiling Fan and Existing 3 way Switch Wiring


Thanks for your input. The first box would control the room lights and the second box would control the fan light. So both would provide a way to turn on the light at either of the 2 entrances to the room.
brewtus32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 11:38 AM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Ceiling Fan and Existing 3 way Switch Wiring


I think we would need alot more information if we were to continue to try to figure this out.

How many switches are at each location?
What do they control?
What wires are in the boxes?
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 12:18 PM   #9
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,349
Default

Ceiling Fan and Existing 3 way Switch Wiring


I assume box2 is the second switch box and that it only has 14/3 plus your new 14/3.
If the power comes into other switch box or if the other switch box has a 14/3 cable to the receptacles then you can probably do as you wish. If not then you probably don't have a neutral wire in the switch so you will need to find a source of power for the new fan.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 12:27 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Ceiling Fan and Existing 3 way Switch Wiring


Here is a quick drawing to help explain visually.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Drawing1.pdf (21.9 KB, 113 views)
brewtus32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 12:37 PM   #11
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Ceiling Fan and Existing 3 way Switch Wiring


The diagram appears that you have mapped out what is actually there incorrectly. I see no way that this would work with only what you have listed on your diagram.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 04:47 PM   #12
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,349
Default

Ceiling Fan and Existing 3 way Switch Wiring


There is no connection shown to the receptacles that are switched. Your cable labeled to breaker most likely actually goes to the receptacles. You can not do what you want without changing that cable to a 14/3. You have what is called a switch loop.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3 way, ceiling fan, switch


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.