Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-27-2008, 06:00 PM   #1
The Carpenta!!!

Share |

Ceiling fan bracket killing power in a very weird way.

I'm installing a ceiling fan in an old house I'm renovating. The wire in the ceiling box is greenfield. I killed the power to the box at the light switch. I know I'm supposed to kill the power at the breaker so I don't need anyone to tell me how unsafe I am. I already know. Anyway, everything was good I tested for voltage with 2 different testers and nothing. Zero current. I started to screw the new bracket to the box and it made contact with the white wire, arched, and tripped the breaker.

I'm no electrician, but if the voltage reads zero should this thing arch?
I WILL PERSIST UNTIL I SUCCEED.
ManMythLegend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 06:07 PM   #2
DIY'er

Quote:
Originally Posted by ManMythLegend View Post
I'm installing a ceiling fan in an old house I'm renovating. The wire in the ceiling box is greenfield. I killed the power to the box at the light switch. I know I'm supposed to kill the power at the breaker so I don't need anyone to tell me how unsafe I am. I already know. Anyway, everything was good I tested for voltage with 2 different testers and nothing. Zero current. I started to screw the new bracket to the box and it made contact with the white wire, arched, and tripped the breaker.

I'm no electrician, but if the voltage reads zero should this thing arch?
3-way switch?

Do any wires junction in the box?

How many wires are in the box and what colors? Did you test all the wires to ground?