Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-28-2011, 02:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 29
Share |
Default

Cat 5 Cable Underground


I have a need to run some Cat 5 cable underground and because I am concerned about potentially needing to replace the cable it is my intention to run the cable in conduit. What I am not sure about is should I use underground direct bury Cat 5 cable in the conduit? My concern is that it will be wet in the conduit as all conduits are and my thoughts are that the underground cable would be better suited for the damp environment. What do you think?

regularguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 02:45 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 712
Default

Cat 5 Cable Underground


If it's something you want for long term, go with the outdoor rated Cat 5. If it's just temporary, then regular might get you by for a while.

I would use outdoor rated as you are right. Conduits do get wet.

AandPDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 02:47 PM   #3
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 979
Default

Cat 5 Cable Underground


You would probably be fine with regular cat5. Direct burial would be better though, if you never want to have to replace it. Would it be incredibly hard to replace if you ever had a problem?
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 02:55 PM   #4
Newbie
 
HDNewf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 27
Default

Cat 5 Cable Underground


Hey regularguy.

I would definitely use direct burial rated cable. The conduit will give added physical protection, but the UF cable is a must.

I hope this helps,
HDNewf.
HDNewf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 04:41 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,831
Default

Cat 5 Cable Underground


Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy21 View Post
You would probably be fine with regular cat5. Direct burial would be better though, if you never want to have to replace it. Would it be incredibly hard to replace if you ever had a problem?
Yes, for about six months, then you start seeing dropped packets, or no connection. The OP needs to use the flooded cat-5e, regardless if it is in conduit or not.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running underground cable across my yard blue sky Electrical 11 12-31-2011 01:35 PM
Underground antenna cable from detached garage PaulTurner Electrical 4 04-07-2011 07:08 PM
Re-route dryer electric cable Stu27 Electrical 10 09-06-2010 08:21 PM
Underground Cable Question Livewire78 Electrical 7 12-09-2009 12:15 PM
Underground service entrance cable requirements. kgt55 Electrical 9 06-22-2009 06:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.