Capacity - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2010, 04:42 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

capacity


How many #12 awg current carrying conductors are allowed in a 4 square 1.5 inch deep box?

Advertisement

pumamar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 04:44 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

capacity


I understand this, thanks.

Advertisement

pumamar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 05:36 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 114
Rewards Points: 75
Default

capacity


In just a regular j box with no device you can have 9 including the grounds. If you have a receptacle than that itself counts as 2 so than it would be 7 including the grounds.
Chevyman30571 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 05:38 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,034
Rewards Points: 2,866
Default

capacity


The 9 is regardless of current carrying or not. Even the grounding conductor and internal clamps count towards the box fill.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I have any more electrical service capacity? (Power for Shed) Magnus357 Electrical 7 10-13-2012 09:52 AM
Maytag WASHER / GE DRYER CAPACITY ?? Chemist1961 Appliances 5 08-26-2009 09:34 AM
Capacity loss with line size Einride HVAC 1 06-29-2009 04:10 PM
Tandem Breakers vs Capacity tsmmgb Electrical 35 10-02-2008 04:34 AM
Can I double wire and increase amperage capacity? YerDugliness Electrical 24 08-22-2008 06:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts