Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-05-2008, 08:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 29
Share |
Default

can't tell if GFCI installed


Is there a way to tell if a GFCI is installed in the breaker? This duplex (as all the other duplexes on this street) was built in 1983 and I heard that GFCI outlets were enforced after 1960.
I don't see the 'test' and 'reset' button on any outlets nor do I see them on the breakers.
Should I assume that there are no GFCI protected circuits, or is it possible that some older GFCI breakers don't have the "test" button on them?

grgryl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 09:04 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

can't tell if GFCI installed


If you're comfortable with electricity, hook a 7-1/2 bulb from hot [short slot] to ground [round hole] using a lamp socket with pigtail leads,
http://media.mydoitbest.com/imagereq...=C&newsize=200
in outlets near sinks.

Make sure the pigtail wires from your lamp socket actually make contact with the outlets internal contacts.

This simulates a ground fault. If the bulb stays on you are not protected.

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 09:20 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

can't tell if GFCI installed


Thats one way of doing it, or you can use a 3 light tester with the button on it (used for testing GFI's). This is usually the preferred method of testing GFI's. If there is a GFI and its good, pushing the button will trip the GFI. If the circuit is still live after pushing the button, then there is either no GFCI device or its faulty.

theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 09:32 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

can't tell if GFCI installed


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
Thats one way of doing it, or you can use a 3 light tester with the button on it (used for testing GFI's). This is usually the preferred method of testing GFI's. If there is a GFI and its good, pushing the button will trip the GFI. If the circuit is still live after pushing the button, then there is either no GFCI device or its faulty.
Yes, buy this gadget!
It's safer and more accurate than my lamp method.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 09:38 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 29
Default

can't tell if GFCI installed


Thanks! I'm looking at the Lowes and Home Depot website for this but can't find it. Where did you get that photo from? SHould I just ask for "Three light tester"?
grgryl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 09:45 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

can't tell if GFCI installed


You can ask for a "GFCI plug in tester" but at any rate you should be able to find this at any home center in the electrical department. I just "google-image" searched for "GFCI tester" to find that picture. I have one that works wonders for properly testing GFCI's. You will likely see two types of the same thing, and one will probably be a little cheaper. Usually the cheaper one does not have the ability to test the GFI's (does not have the button) so make sure you get the right one. Other than the button they both do exactly the same thing.

Here's a link to a product at Home Depot made by Gardner Bender: http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/...d&ddkey=Search

Last edited by theatretch85; 08-05-2008 at 09:47 PM. Reason: Added Web Link
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 12:39 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

can't tell if GFCI installed


There are at least 32 ways to connect one, two, or three wires to the three terminals of an outlet, and only one is correct.

This gadget doesn't test everything but it goes a long way in that direction.

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 41 06-05-2014 12:41 PM
New GFCI Breaker Tripping w/ 3-way Flourescents BigJimmy Electrical 8 12-29-2008 02:29 PM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 03:15 PM
Can a GFCI protected light be installed into a normal light circuit? boongywoongy Electrical 6 05-19-2008 08:02 PM
GFCI questions 5circles Electrical 4 11-05-2007 08:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.