Can't Figure Out Kitchen Light Wiring... - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-22-2011, 07:16 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 75

Can't figure out kitchen light wiring...

hey, first off i am a total newbie with this sort of thing.

just moved into a house, and the previous owner had removed the kitchen light fixture.

i have a fixture that i want to install. here's my problem: at the hole where the light goes, there are 2 white wires, 2 black, and 2 red. each pair is held together with a wire nut.

looking at the light i want to install, there are 2 electrical wires, but neither one has a color. there is also a 3rd wire, but it is so thin -- about the width of a spaghetti before it's cooked -- that i'm thinking it's not even electrical?

as you can see i have no idea what i am doing. if any of you could tell me which wires to connect, i would appreciate it greatly. thanks!!

Advertisement

19mquinn79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 07:50 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,000

White is usually neutral but could be a switch leg, if tied together I would guess they are neutrals. Connect white wire from fixture here. Black is usually hot, and in the case of a kitch junction box, probably a feed thru going to other fixtures. Red is often a switched circuit, usually from 3 way switches. Try connecting the black on the light to the red, and operate the switches. Green or bare(ground) on the fixture goes to bare in the box.

Advertisement

Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 08:20 AM   #3
Licensed electrician

Rewards Points: 2,796

The wire that connects to the screw shell of the fixture should connect to the white from the ceiling. Sometimes this is designated with a ridge on the cable or conductor.
Old 09-22-2011, 09:08 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Just Bill View Post