Can't Figure Out This Doorbell Problem!! - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2008, 06:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Unhappy

Can't figure out this doorbell problem!!


My doorbell stopped working about 6 mo ago. I finally got around to fixing it.

I checked the wires at the button with a multimeter... I have voltage there. Connected the 2 wires... no bell. Check the bell... I have voltage there. Replace the bell, no change. Touched a 9v battery to both bells (new and old) they both work. Checked the transformer... i have voltage there. I also checked continuity throughout the system and no problem.

Do I have a short?

Thanks

Advertisement

dontstop611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 07:19 PM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Can't figure out this doorbell problem!!


remove the bell wires tie them together remove the secondary on the TR and put your meter in AUDIBLE /OHMS on the 2 wires off the TR..... have somebody push the button should see or hear something if the circuit is complete.

Advertisement

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 07:33 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

Can't figure out this doorbell problem!!


How many wires do you have leaving the transformer, and how many at the bell?
is there a back door button and a second bell/chime for that door?

What is the voltage at the transformer?

Try having someone else push the button while you measure the voltage at the transformer.

When you measured the voltage at the button, was it disconnected, or still in the circuit?
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 02:21 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can't figure out this doorbell problem!!


BIGGLES,
I tied the bell wires and button wires together I removed the secondary at the transformer. I have continuity throughout.
I didn't have a 2nd person to press the button so I tied them together. I checked the continuity of the button by itself, and it was good.

Thanks for the reply.

Please continue to help me troubleshoot this problem.
dontstop611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 02:29 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can't figure out this doorbell problem!!


KE2KB,

I have 2 wires leaving the transformer - both red. I have 2 at the bell - red and white. I have 2 wires at the button - red and white. There is no back door bell. The white wires are tied together with a wire nut near the transformer.

The voltage at the transformer was 0.73 volts. I checked it four times, both red to ground and black to ground.

The voltage at the chime 0.65 volts. Again, both red and black to ground.

The button 0.63 volts.

The transformer is bad... isn't it?
dontstop611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 04:24 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Can't figure out this doorbell problem!!


If you measure the open circuit voltage of the transformer secondary and it doesn't show ~18v or ~27v, with the primary winding powered by 120v, then it's bad.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 06:26 PM   #7
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Can't figure out this doorbell problem!!


TRs are usually 10Vs solid with nothing connected
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 06:44 PM   #8
electrical contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Georgia USA
Posts: 181
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Can't figure out this doorbell problem!!


Bad transformer. Secondary voltage could be anywhere between 10 and 24 volts, depending on your chime, should be marked on the transformer.
__________________
Jimmy

Life is tough, Life is tougher when you are stupid.
wire_twister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 08:31 PM   #9
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Can't figure out this doorbell problem!!


if your door TR is down on the CB panel in the basement,and the 10Vs is run up to the switch then the bell the VA(voltamps) rating on it is the part that takes the hit with nothing working.that is why the bell works when you test it right at the TR
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 12:35 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

Can't figure out this doorbell problem!!


With only 0.65V on the transformer, either it is bad, or there is no 120V powering it.
You need to make sure you have 120V on the primary before you replace it.
__________________


Last edited by KE2KB; 12-08-2008 at 12:38 PM.
KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 05:55 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Can't figure out this doorbell problem!!


On the low voltage (bell wires; secondary) side of this transformer, you mentioned red to ground and black to ground. Did you mean red to red?

On some systems, low voltage hot to ground means nothing. The important voltage measurements are across the two terminals on the bell and across the two low voltage terminals on this transformer. On the high voltage side (primary here; usually with pigtails instead of screw terminals) see that you have 110 to 120 volts.

Some bell transformers have more than two secondary terminals to give a choice of voltages such as 10, 16, 24, 32, etc.

Last edited by AllanJ; 12-08-2008 at 06:00 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 04:38 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

Can't figure out this doorbell problem!!


Uh Oh; I'm afraid he is measuring from each transformer terminal to ground, not between terminals. I think the red to ground and black to ground refer to the meter lead colors.
You need to be in the AC Volts mode, and it doesn't make a difference which meter wire goes to which terminal, just that you need to measure between terminals of the transformer, not between one terminal and ground.
Ground is not normally part of the doorbell circuit.

Advertisement

__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Doorbell wiring problem schulte24 Electrical 9 08-28-2008 09:40 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 07:26 PM
GMP100-3 Problem hansim4 HVAC 2 12-13-2007 04:55 PM
Doorbell Problem TonyD Electrical 5 03-23-2007 10:04 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 02:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts