Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-11-2012, 01:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Cannot Get New Dimmer Switch Working Correctly


Good Afternoon All -

This weekend, my wife asked for me to install a dimmer on one of our lights in our kitchen. Easy enough, right? Well, I'm having trouble. Below is the configuration as well as what I'm trying to do.

Previous Configuration

- There are 2 lights in the kitchen. I only want to control one with the dimmer.
- There are two switch plates for these lights.
- There's one single switch plate which controls one light
- There's one dual switch plate which controls the same light from the single switch above. The 2nd switch controls the 2nd light.

Therefore, one light has one switch. The other light has two.

I went to Lowes and bought the following to replace the dual switch plate:
- 1 Switch with built in dimmer (3-way)
- 1 Switch which was standard (3-way)
- 1 Dual Plate to cover the two

When typing this, I realize I didn't need to have the dimmer a 3 way.

What I Did

I shut off the breaker then removed the dual plate which was to be replaced and took pictures.

Link if pic doesn't load...

I'm no electrician, but know basic knowledge. There were basically 4 wires. Red, x2 Grey, Black, bare ground. The grey one was connected at one point to both existing switches.

I reconnected the wires as I thought they should be and tested. The lights come on, but not the way I want them to. I've tried many different configurations by switching the wires around, but can't get it 100% correct. Below are the results that I've had:

- Dimmer light works / Other light only powers on when other switch is on.
- Dimmer controls both lights
- On / Off backwards.

Below are also pictures of the backs of the two new switches. Given those and the info above, can someone tell me how I need to configure this?

Note: I have not opened or changed anything on the other, separate switch in the room.

Standard Switch - 1 Connection on top (ground), 2 connections on side, one connection on other side

Link if pic doesn't load...

Dimmer Switch - 1 Connection on the bottom, 1 on top (ground), 2 on side (one is for 3 way.)

Link if pic doesn't load...

Any help would be MUCH appreciated - Thanks!

BzowK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 02:01 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,363
Default

Cannot Get New Dimmer Switch Working Correctly


You need to upload another pic showing both switches from a frontal view, similar to the first pic, but with the new switch installed.

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
BzowK (02-11-2012)
Old 02-11-2012, 02:06 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Cannot Get New Dimmer Switch Working Correctly


Here you go!

Right side is standard switch - left is dimmer. Hope it's what you needed. Thanks!



Link in case image didn't come through...
http://db.tt/ln24R8Cb
BzowK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 02:12 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,363
Default

Cannot Get New Dimmer Switch Working Correctly


Now fold them down, so I can see where each wire goes from each switch into which cable from the back of the box, similar to your original photo.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
BzowK (02-11-2012)
Old 02-11-2012, 02:21 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Cannot Get New Dimmer Switch Working Correctly


Here you go - Took two pictures to make sure.

http://db.tt/67zYfWOK
http://db.tt/bl8SE4a2

With the way it's wired when I took them:
- Both lights are controlled by the dimmer control on the right side
- The switch on the dimmer (right side) powers both lights on and off.
- The single switch on the left turns on the light it is supposed to - but only when the other switch for it is on

Thanks
BzowK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 02:39 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,363
Default

Cannot Get New Dimmer Switch Working Correctly


You still don't have the right view here.

I want to know where the black wire from the cable on the right side goes to.

It should be connected to the single terminal on the dimmer (marked YL).

I can't tell from your pix if it's connected there or not.

All the other black wires originating from the middle two 2-wire cables should be tied together, with pigtails going to the "common" terminal on both switches.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!

Last edited by kbsparky; 02-11-2012 at 02:42 PM.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
BzowK (02-11-2012)
Old 02-11-2012, 03:12 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

Cannot Get New Dimmer Switch Working Correctly


I added photos. Easier than going back and forth
Attached Thumbnails
Cannot Get New Dimmer Switch Working Correctly-f96aa66.jpg  
Attached Images
     
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hammerlane For This Useful Post:
BzowK (02-11-2012)
Old 02-11-2012, 03:18 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

Cannot Get New Dimmer Switch Working Correctly


You have 4 cables coming into the switch box, I marked them A, B, C and D.

Which cable's black wire is the incoming power source or ALWAYS HOT WIRE.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by hammerlane; 02-11-2012 at 03:22 PM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hammerlane For This Useful Post:
BzowK (02-11-2012)
Old 02-11-2012, 04:13 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Cannot Get New Dimmer Switch Working Correctly


Hey Everyone -

I got it to work. It turns out that one of the grey wires which connects to another must had moved when installing the new one. I swapped them back and it worked.

Thanks for your help!

BzowK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Wiring Dimmer Switch scubakathy84 Electrical 2 12-21-2011 10:26 PM
replacing a dimmer switch with regular switch demus72 Electrical 2 11-10-2011 01:54 PM
Changing A Double Switch to a single pole switch and a dimmer switch loydbrahn Electrical 0 11-08-2011 11:00 PM
3-Way switch not working properly KG4ONJ Electrical 4 09-01-2011 09:29 PM
Dual Dimmer Switch Headache! BrumGuy Electrical 3 12-02-2008 02:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.