Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-24-2012, 04:21 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Falmouth, MA.
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

cannot find a CTL version of this breaker


I need to put in a subpanel for a motor that requires 20 amps. It requires fuse protection from a class g or cc fuse. The label says that it must not be used on a breaker because it "does not provide adequate protection" (as stated by the label). The only non-european fuse holder that can fit in a breaker panel is the square d qf. But this breaker was only manufactured in tandem and is not ctl. It fits in the square d qo panels. What if I buy a 4 circuit panel that can accept 4 tandems and stick the non-ctl breaker in a slot that can accept a tandem, but does not say anything about a non-ctl one.Can I put in this breaker, or should I find a pre-1965 panel?

neo565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 04:42 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,426
Rewards Points: 192
Default

cannot find a CTL version of this breaker


You need to go back and add your location to your profile.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 06:50 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,869
Rewards Points: 8
Default

cannot find a CTL version of this breaker


Install the subpanel with breakers, install a fused disconnect to protect the motor.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 07:06 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Falmouth, MA.
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 0
Default

cannot find a CTL version of this breaker


A class G or CC disconnect??? I did not know that they existed.
neo565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 07:12 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Falmouth, MA.
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 0
Default

cannot find a CTL version of this breaker


Just found out from the local inspector. It is ok to use a non ctl breaker in a panel as long as all the slots are made for tandems. This type of installation is very common here. There is also a ctl version, sort of acts like a type S fuse, but to prevent you from sticking too big a breaker in a panel. Does not work anymore, but the shape and size is so similar to the QO ctl that it will not allow the breaker to fit in a non tandem slot.
neo565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Main Breaker box (or is it Main Lug box?)- pyheme Electrical 7 09-11-2012 11:29 PM
Separate 110 and 220 receptacles on 2-pole 220 V Square D GFI breaker sunrise Electrical 1 05-13-2012 07:27 PM
Outside breaker, inside main breaker panel, so is it a sub? CPF Electrical 29 02-01-2012 10:28 AM
Extending wire from meter box proge Electrical 11 08-13-2009 06:30 PM
cannot find the right breaker pat72 Electrical 11 08-08-2008 12:26 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.