Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2010, 02:03 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 14
Share |
Default

in canada grounding


my 2nd. floor bathroom has no grounding .Is it ok. to connect one wire from cold water pipe to the outlet? My break panel is grounded to the main water pipe.All 1st floor and basement are grounded. Thanks

gefeiora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 02:10 PM   #2
Handyman
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oakville, Ont, Canada
Posts: 796
Default

in canada grounding


I would just install a GFI outlet.

canadaclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 03:19 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 14
Default

in canada grounding


thanks,Canadaclub, the box is too small and is very hard to work. is too close to the mirror .But is it safe to use a wire.? May be what i would do is install a box with a gfci receptacle, right after the panel, and i think the hole circuit will be protect. thanks again
gefeiora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 03:32 PM   #4
Handyman
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oakville, Ont, Canada
Posts: 796
Default

in canada grounding


Yep, a GFI breaker will work
canadaclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 05:38 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,446
Default

in canada grounding


Grounding to a metal water pipe is permitted in Canada. GFCI is also required within 1.5m of the sink.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 05:58 PM   #6
Handyman
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oakville, Ont, Canada
Posts: 796
Default

in canada grounding


Only if you are sure that it is copper all the way to the earth
canadaclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 10:09 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 14
Default

in canada grounding


thanks for yours replies. A gfci breaker would the best. unfortunately,it is discontinue, could't find any.i will try with the wire (only 1m),and take the cable from the panel connect to a box with a gfci receptacle and than connect back to the breaker, that way i think that circuit will be protected .thanks

gefeiora is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
grounding electrode conductor question bsperr Electrical 8 12-05-2009 09:23 AM
grounding of main panel and sub panel in older house linkysys Electrical 2 10-01-2009 04:34 PM
Grounding Method Steelhead Electrical 6 02-05-2009 11:06 AM
Grounding light box n0c7 Electrical 10 10-06-2008 03:20 PM
NEC Question Jafsvcs Electrical 1 06-13-2007 05:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.