Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-02-2011, 09:19 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 108
Share |
Default

Can you wire multiple outlets like this?


Is this ok to do?

toobhed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 09:33 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,321
Default

Can you wire multiple outlets like this?


That way is fine.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 10:16 PM   #3
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Default

Can you wire multiple outlets like this?


Sure hope so! That's how I'm wiring the new circuit I'm currently working on. lol
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 07:29 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,838
Default

Can you wire multiple outlets like this?


There is the chance that the box with the three cables coming in will be too small. Count two points for the receptacle unit, one point for all the grounds, one point for all clamps or fingers holding cables in the box, and one point for each wire end coming in (6). No points for pigtails (short lengths) completely inside the box, no points for wire nuts (USA rules). Total 10 points times 2 cubic inches for 14 gauge wires equals 20 c.i. box minimum size.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 07:32 AM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,346
Default

Can you wire multiple outlets like this?


That is the standard way of wiring receptacles.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 09:48 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 108
Default

Can you wire multiple outlets like this?


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ
There is the chance that the box with the three cables coming in will be too small. Count two points for the receptacle unit, one point for all the grounds, one point for all clamps or fingers holding cables in the box, and one point for each wire end coming in (6). No points for pigtails (short lengths) completely inside the box, no points for wire nuts (USA rules). Total 10 points times 2 cubic inches for 14 gauge wires equals 20 c.i. box minimum size.
Good to know. I am running 12/2 for the outlets. I believe the c.i. multiplier is 2.25? That puts me at 22.5 inches so definitely a do over.

I have no clamps, what are fingers? Do dimmer switches also count as 2?
toobhed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 10:11 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

Can you wire multiple outlets like this?


Quote:
Originally Posted by toobhed View Post

I have no clamps, what are fingers? Do dimmer switches also count as 2?
I think he means the molded in grips that hold the cables. I personally do not feel cable grips like that are taken out for box fill. Only additional or internal clamps are. Cable grips that are molded into the box are already figured into the actual cu/in capacity of the box.

And yes, any "yoke mounted device" counts are two "conductors".
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 10:14 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,838
Default

Can you wire multiple outlets like this?


Sometimes the "clamp" is a plastic finger molded as part of the box and just inside the hole and is pushed aside a little as you insert the cable.

By code a dimmer switch also counts 2 points but you need to be careful because it can be hard to stuff everything into the box. You really should get a bigger box if the point count is near the limit and you also have a dimmer switch or GFCI receptacle.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 10:20 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 108
Default

Can you wire multiple outlets like this?


Thank you thank you! I get it now

toobhed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Two Gang Outlet to Three Gang Outlet vbullinger Electrical 9 01-10-2011 05:13 PM
Multiple Outlets From One Source (14-2) J.A.M Electrical 5 02-08-2010 07:39 PM
Wire Multiple Lights controlled by 4-way Switch? mfleming Electrical 17 11-20-2008 08:46 AM
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 01:14 PM
Installing Fluorescents in Garage rzrbkpk Electrical 26 04-08-2008 09:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.