Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2007, 12:19 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 103
Share |
Default

Can you wire a dimmer in any light fixure?


Do add a dimmer, do you just replace the existing wall switch to a dimming one or do you need to do something special to the actual fixure?

Bacardi 151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 12:21 PM   #2
Eibwen
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 849
Default

Can you wire a dimmer in any light fixure?


As long as you dont have a three way switch or a flourescent fixture involved, it should be a straight swap out.

Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 12:26 PM   #3
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 3,730
Default

Can you wire a dimmer in any light fixure?


From an amateur -

You can replace a switch with a dimmer, but what is controls will determine the results. You must use the appropriate dimmer if you have mutiple switches and only one can be a dimmer.

You cannot have anything with motor (refridgerator, freezer, ceiling fan) on the line controlled.

If have flourescents and CFs (compact flourescents) you will have problems.

Regular light fixtures with normal tungsten bulbs will work.

I may have missed some details, but this is a starting point.
concretemasonry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 12:34 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 103
Default

Can you wire a dimmer in any light fixure?


Great, thanks for all the help. The do make a dimmable CF, but as adviced you cannot use a "standard" CF.
Bacardi 151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 12:55 PM   #5
4th Year Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Coquitlam BC, Canada
Posts: 27
Default

Can you wire a dimmer in any light fixure?


And yes in a 3way or 4 way lighting circuit you can have a dimmer.... IDEALLY only one dimmer but some people like to have 2 3-way dimmers.

It DOES WORK... lol SORTA. Basically it becomes 2 dimmable locations BUT you should only use the ON/OFF @ one location.

Basically stubborn home owners want this and you do it to appease them.
SwiftyMcV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 01:38 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 220
Default

Can you wire a dimmer in any light fixure?


Also, for low voltage halogens like MR16 lamps, there are special dimmers as well... depending on electonic or magnetic transformers...
slakker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 01:49 PM   #7
Eibwen
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 849
Default

Can you wire a dimmer in any light fixure?


Good point Slakker!
Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 04:26 PM   #8
4th Year Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Coquitlam BC, Canada
Posts: 27
Default

Can you wire a dimmer in any light fixure?


and if you get really picky Ive seen a 4-way dimmer...
SwiftyMcV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 01:10 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Can you wire a dimmer in any light fixure?


Dimmers are used on ceiling fans all the time. I do not use them for fans but. If the dimmers current rating exceeds the fan current rating, you most only will have to deal with noise.
It is preferable to use a control intended for fan use.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 12:17 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Can you wire a dimmer in any light fixure?


Saw this thread at the right time...

So, I can successfully replace one of the 3-way switches which control 7 (seven) flood lamps in my Kitchen with a *3-way* dimmer?

Regular bulbs, not fluorescent. 65W each - that is why I would like a dimmer.
YetAnotherDIYer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 12:24 PM   #11
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,978
Default

Can you wire a dimmer in any light fixure?


7 x 65 = 455 watts.... so get a good quality 600w or 1000 watt 3-way dimmer. Get a no noise type it will refer to this on the dimmer literature. Take a look online at lutron and leviton and pass and seymour (my favorite).
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 12:36 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Can you wire a dimmer in any light fixure?


Thank you

I got a 600W Lutron from the local home improvement store.
YetAnotherDIYer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 12:58 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 301
Default

Can you wire a dimmer in any light fixure?


They do make a 3 way dimmer which can dim at either location, I got one at my local Home Depot. It has a computer in it, and personally I don't like it just too fancy and feature rich.

You press the button and it will turn on to the last dim setting you had it at. Double-click the on button to put it at max brightness. Press the same button to shut it off and it will slowly dim to off within 3 seconds. Instead pressing and holding the same button for 2 seconds it will continue to dim then off in 10 seconds. To adjust the dim you press that same button to turn it on, and again while it's getting brighter or vice versa you can press that button to turn it off and while it dims to go out pressing it again will stop it at the lower dim setting. Or press the tiny up or down button, either of which adjusts it at both location simultaneously.

Anyway it's a pain in the butt! You press the same button for so many things half the time I'm pressing the button five or six times to get the lights at full brightness, then give up and just hold down the tiny up arrow. It's so easy to default it to lowest brightness, guests trying to use it can never figure out how to get it brighter.

My favorite is the Lutron, the one with a toggle and a bar on the side you slide up/down. Not sure if they make that kind for a 3-way.

Last edited by Piedmont; 11-05-2007 at 01:09 PM.
Piedmont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 04:32 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Can you wire a dimmer in any light fixure?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Piedmont View Post
My favorite is the Lutron, the one with a toggle and a bar on the side you slide up/down. Not sure if they make that kind for a 3-way.
Yes, pretty economical too.
YetAnotherDIYer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 08:37 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 190
Default

Can you wire a dimmer in any light fixure?


If you replace one of the 3-way switches with a dimmer, it should work. But you can't just drop in 2 dimmers. Some dimmer models have 'remotes' designed to work with a dimmer.

I like Leviton Acenti, a little pricy, but beautiful. And they make remotes for their dimmers that use neutral as reference and essentially control the main dimmer, matching even brightness LED position. Fluorescent and low voltage dimmers are also available, but costly. ($30-32 for regular dimmer, $55-60 for low voltage, $75-80 for flurescent)

scorrpio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM
Red & Black wire from light = blown fuse leedslad Electrical 3 08-28-2006 06:54 PM
Replacing light killed downstream outlets, totally stuck amissner Electrical 5 07-13-2006 06:02 AM
OK to user a dimmer with ceiling light? FreeCashBack.co.uk Electrical 2 06-19-2005 09:16 PM
trying to wire a light and light switch off of an outlet imphishy Electrical 3 03-16-2005 09:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.