Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-19-2005, 08:42 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Can You tap a 12 AWG circuit with 14 AWG for a light?


I am installing a new ceiling light fixture and the nearest power source is a 20AM 12 awg wire circuit. The receptical is in a deep box and is through and through , and is only 1 of 4 on that circuit -- so i believe i can tap it with another wire.

My question is - can i tap my new switch / light from the 12 awg receptical with a 14 AWG wire ? and still be within code?

jacksaly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 04:23 PM   #2
Remodeler
 
MinConst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spring Hill FL.
Posts: 436
Default

Can You tap a 12 AWG circuit with 14 AWG for a light?


I wouldn't unless it is the last fixture in the run. Why not just use 12?

__________________
Minichillo's Construction
I will never leave you hanging!
Web
One Man Shops
MinConst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 04:31 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

Can You tap a 12 AWG circuit with 14 AWG for a light?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jacksaly
My question is - can i tap my new switch / light from the 12 awg receptical with a 14 AWG wire ? and still be within code?
Absolutely not.

If this is a bathroom or kitchen receptacle circuit then it would be all the more illegal.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 07:40 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Can You tap a 12 AWG circuit with 14 AWG for a light?


Thanks for the replies...

the recep is first in the line, the circuit is a dinning room , being converted to an entrance way from the new foyer ( where the new light is being placed ) ,

i ran a new circuit for the foyer but thought i may be pushing the number of devices ,
5 convenience recepticles ,
front lights (200watts) ,
rear entrance lights (120watts) ,
two flourescent closet lights (30watts each)
and the ceiling light/fan (392watts-max) ( the fan addition happened today when the fan box arrived from the saturday hardware store trip.... )

if i est 150 watts to each recept i come up with 1522 which is under the 1800 va for 14 awg - but is was told i had to derate the 1800 to 1440 which puts me over. that is why i inquired about tapping the other circuit.

Any ideas on this derating? Is that required for general lighting and receptacles?
jacksaly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 07:59 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

Can You tap a 12 AWG circuit with 14 AWG for a light?


You can have as many receptacles on a circuit as you want. The 180va per receptacle outlet does not apply to residential as far as load calculations go. Of course we keep the numbers to a reasonable amount.
For known loads the actual numbers are used. Such as lighting. We use the highest allowable wattage for calculations.

If all you are adding is a foyer light I would add it to the foyer circuit no question.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2005, 03:52 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Can You tap a 12 AWG circuit with 14 AWG for a light?


dear question, simple solution. turn on every thing on that circuit. take amprobe
and place on black wire. if you are at10 to 15 range add the lite. but stay with
# 12 wire bigboy11

bigboy11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 03:34 PM
add a second light to an existing 3 way switch circuit djohns10 Electrical 6 03-02-2007 07:16 PM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 08:09 PM
Hot Light Outlets Materials Guru Electrical 5 07-31-2006 07:11 PM
Replacing light killed downstream outlets, totally stuck amissner Electrical 5 07-13-2006 06:02 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.