Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-23-2012, 04:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can you just upgrade the Interior of the Load Center ?


Wondering if an interior of the panelboard alone can be upgraded, provided that the newer panelboard box dimension, physically, is the same as the old one.

This way, there is no hassle of removing the panelbox pan and all existing wiring that was pulled into it, but just a simple swap of the interior.

I.e.)

Old Panelboard: Siemens G4040MB1200
New Panelboard: Siemens P4040B1200CU.

Of course the new cover panel/door from P4040B1200CU would have to be used in place of the cover/door from, G4040MB1200.

khfactor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 04:46 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Can you just upgrade the Interior of the Load Center ?


Done that many times.

You will have to accurately locate the new guts and drill out mounting holes as needed.

You'll also probably have to drill new cover holes as well.

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 06:36 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can you just upgrade the Interior of the Load Center ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Done that many times.

You will have to accurately locate the new guts and drill out mounting holes as needed.

You'll also probably have to drill new cover holes as well.
Thanks, I thought it was do-able. Since my existing Load Center "can" is already recessed into the wall, I did not want to remove the "can" only to be replaced with the same size can.

I want to keep the existing can and just upgrade the gut. Well, it turned out that my existing G4040MB1200 Load Center can is 39" long and the newer model of the Siemens Load Center P4040B1200 is 36" long.

Not wanting to give up, I do some more researching in the Siemens catalog and I found the Siemens Load Center P4260B1225CU that has the 42 space and for 60 breakers which is the same length (39") as my old Load Center. Bingo !!!

I do hope that it is OK to mount the NEW interior 42 slot/60 breakers into my existing "can" which was built for only 40 slot/40 breaker interior. Overall length of both CANs are the same 39".

If it is OK, then I am hoping that it is just that; drilling a couple of holes in the existing can to accommodate the new P4260B1225 Load Center interior. I can use the NEW cover and the new door that came with the box.

By the way, is this something a DIY person can do or do I need to hire an electrician? I assume the meter has to be taken out of the socket to do this work....
khfactor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Siemens Load Center Help - Bonding aquasport17 Electrical 4 10-24-2012 12:21 PM
Main load center grounding question. sgip2000 Electrical 18 10-03-2012 12:45 PM
Boxing In My Load Center? ddawg16 Building & Construction 5 08-22-2012 11:21 PM
What is this piece of metal for in my load center? danielrg Electrical 6 05-23-2012 02:09 AM
Minimum distance from ground for load center. The Mindz i Electrical 52 03-16-2011 12:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.