Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-29-2009, 08:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can you change a 220v plug on a dryer


I just bought a dryer and I was wondering if I could just change the type of plug it has. It has a three prong 220v and my apartment is just wired for 110v plugs. Can you help or should I just get a new dryer.

clueless_03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 08:20 PM   #2
Remodeler
 
adpanko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 215
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Can you change a 220v plug on a dryer


No, you can't just put on a new plug. The dryer requires 220v, so you NEED a 220v outlet to plug it into. If you didn't already have an electric dryer in that same spot, you'll need to run a new 220v outlet. There is no other way. 110v dryers don't exist, at least not that I'm aware of. Gas dryers have a normal 110v plug, but that just controls the timer and light basically, it doesn't actually provide the drying, the gas does. But if you have a pure (ie not gas) electrical dryer, you need a 220v outlet.

adpanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 08:27 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Can you change a 220v plug on a dryer


Dryers also usually require a 30a 240v breaker & #10 wire
Household outlets are #12 wire (20a only), so you couldn't even convert a dedicated #12 run/outlet to 240v
And now you need a 4 prong cord is my understanding
--2 hots, neutral & ground
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 08:43 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Can you change a 220v plug on a dryer


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Dryers also usually require a 30a 240v breaker & #10 wire
Household outlets are #12 wire, soyou couldn't even convert a dedicated #12 run/outlet to 240v
Well, this is a bit misleading, but the sentiment is accurate.

Standard receptacles are 120v, 15 or 20A. An electric dryer requires a 120/240v, 4-wire, 30A circuit. The two are not even close to the same.

Edit: Sorry, the misleading part is that a dedicated 15 or 20A line can be changed to a 15 or 20A straight 240v circuit. It is true that it CANNOT be changed to a 120/240v, 4-wire circuit.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.

Last edited by Speedy Petey; 08-29-2009 at 09:02 PM. Reason: add info
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 08:49 PM   #5
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 359
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Can you change a 220v plug on a dryer


The apartment must have had a gas dryer before. Bummer, I guess you'll have to get another gas model.

I would have looked before I went shopping.
junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 09:25 PM   #6
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Can you change a 220v plug on a dryer


Should not be too hard to run a new plug. Should be one of these:



The two straight blades are the hots, they make 240 volts (normally red and black, order does not matter), the top middle is the ground (normally bare) and the botton is the neutral (normally white). From neutral to any of the hots it is 120 - these are normally the terminals on a 120v plug (the two hots alternate throughout the house) but in the case of a dryer and stove both 120 and 240 are needed so this is the plug you need. (a stove one is slightly different as it is 40 amps I think... dryer is 30)

And you will need #10 wire for this. In that pic it is #10, and as you can see it's quite thick (and more expensive).

Last edited by Red Squirrel; 08-29-2009 at 09:27 PM.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 01:39 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can you change a 220v plug on a dryer


Thank you for the information

clueless_03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting 220v dryer to 110v dbielinski Appliances 17 09-05-2012 05:45 PM
3 wire with ground to 3 prong dryer plug dgbunk Electrical 9 10-19-2010 01:07 PM
Running new dryer wire...but dryer is three plug currently. RyanD Electrical 7 08-07-2009 02:33 PM
dryer Outlet change 3 prong to 4 prong oldpirate General DIY Discussions 2 08-06-2008 06:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.