Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-15-2008, 10:14 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,283
Rewards Points: 1,014
Question

can wire attenuate ?


i was wondering if it is possible to attenuate wire while threading it forcefully through tight beam holes.

i had to run a 6/3 cable along the entire depth of my basement, i.e. about 70 ft. i drilled 7/8 speedbore holes using my right-angle drill (god, do i love that tool !) but then decided to also run a 12/2 cable through it as well. the holes were sufficient for the 6/3 but the 12/2 fit in real snug and it was tight pulling it through. since i had to pull real had, i was worried whether that could have cause attenuation of the wire, since it wasn't sliding smoothly ?

i was also wondering if twisting of the wire while threading can cause breakage or any other issues ? the 6/3 was twisting like crazy and there didn't seem to be a way around it, unless someone unrolled the entire spool down the street so i was pulling a straightened cable.


Last edited by amakarevic; 12-15-2008 at 10:16 AM.
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 10:34 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

can wire attenuate ?


If the holes were to small for the extra 12/2, you should have drilled new holes. Your cables are probably okay. It's pretty tough stuff.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 10:36 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,283
Rewards Points: 1,014
Default

can wire attenuate ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
If the holes were to small for the extra 12/2, you should have drilled new holes. Your cables are probably okay. It's pretty tough stuff.
thanks. the reasons for not drilling new holes were beam conservation and laziness.
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 11:41 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

can wire attenuate ?


In new construction, conforming to codes, this may not get you far with the inspector, but its safe.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 11:42 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,283
Rewards Points: 1,014
Question

can wire attenuate ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
In new construction, conforming to codes, this may not get you far with the inspector, but its safe.
are you referring to beam holes ?
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 01:36 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

can wire attenuate ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
cause attenuation of the wire
You mean work-hardening?
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 02:26 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

can wire attenuate ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
are you referring to beam holes ?

Yeah, there's code about de-rating the ampacity of the circuit. I don't think its an issue though.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 08:12 PM   #8
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 500
Default

can wire attenuate ?


12/2 can derate a lot and still be 20amp, it's got a built in overrate.. so you rarely have to worry about derating it lower than 20a
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 08:31 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,965
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

can wire attenuate ?


You might tear the cable jacket or even the insulation on one or more conductors. Then it technically does not meet code.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 09:39 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,283
Rewards Points: 1,014
Default

can wire attenuate ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
You mean work-hardening?
not sure what you mean.
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 10:58 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

can wire attenuate ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
Yeah, there's code about de-rating the ampacity of the circuit. I don't think its an issue though.
You are correct. It's called bundling. But this is not a case of bundling. The beams are not thick enough to even consider it.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 11:26 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

can wire attenuate ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
You are correct. It's called bundling. But this is not a case of bundling. The beams are not thick enough to even consider it.

Yeah, I know about bundling. I thought there was something about how many wires through holes,etc.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 01:04 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

can wire attenuate ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
not sure what you mean.
If you bend metal back and forth, or stretch it, it becomes harder, more brittle.
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q...=%22work+hardn

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Stove, old wires - 2 wire vs 3 wire DIYGST Electrical 22 03-02-2009 04:13 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 01:14 PM
Installing Fluorescents in Garage rzrbkpk Electrical 26 04-08-2008 09:00 PM
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 02:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.