Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-28-2013, 11:35 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can a speed control switch for fan set off smoke alarm?


We have a 3 speed fan control switch in our sons room. When we turn the fan to high the smoke alarm in another rom goes off. These are wired smoke alarms with battery backups. Should I have an electrician come out and test anything or just change the switch?

Chinesebandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 11:52 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,518
Rewards Points: 4,152
Default

Can a speed control switch for fan set off smoke alarm?


Is it hard wired with battery back up?
How old is it? There suppost to be trashed and replaced at least every 7 years.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 01:14 AM   #3
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,573
Rewards Points: 2,476
Default

Can a speed control switch for fan set off smoke alarm?


Turn off the breaker to the fan....if that turns off the smokes as well (they go to backup bat), then it could be RF noise from the fan control. I'm assuming your using a wall mounted switch.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 08:57 AM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,339
Rewards Points: 2,340
Default

Can a speed control switch for fan set off smoke alarm?


Photocell or particle detection type Smoke? If you can pull it down and post manufacturer info, and there should also be a date stamp, that can help others. Keep in mind, if it is at least 8-10 years old, time to replace. Now of course, you could place Ferret cores on the electrical lines, to see if that cuts down on RF interference.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 08:13 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,818
Rewards Points: 2,434
Default

Can a speed control switch for fan set off smoke alarm?


Just dealt with the same situation last week. Replaced the smoke and problem was gone. Smoke alarm was pushing 20 years or so.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:42 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 925
Rewards Points: 672
Default

Can a speed control switch for fan set off smoke alarm?


I have a bedroom in my house with receptacles that were wired to the smoke alarms for some reason. I assume it was a mistake. Whenever I plug a vacuum cleaner into that room, they all go off. I believe it has to do with the current drop. So go play with your breakers and see if they share a circuit with your fan.

I have a breaker for the smoke alarms, but it does not turn them off. The bedroom breaker does kill them. One day I'll figure out if anything is connected to that breaker.
mikegp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 09:11 AM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,818
Rewards Points: 2,434
Default

Can a speed control switch for fan set off smoke alarm?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mikegp View Post
I have a bedroom in my house with receptacles that were wired to the smoke alarms for some reason. I assume it was a mistake. Whenever I plug a vacuum cleaner into that room, they all go off. I believe it has to do with the current drop. So go play with your breakers and see if they share a circuit with your fan.

I have a breaker for the smoke alarms, but it does not turn them off. The bedroom breaker does kill them. One day I'll figure out if anything is connected to that breaker.
It was not a mistake. The were just wired from a nearby circuit.

The receptacle may have a loose connection that is affecting the power to the smokes.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 09:34 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 925
Rewards Points: 672
Default

Can a speed control switch for fan set off smoke alarm?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
It was not a mistake. The were just wired from a nearby circuit.

The receptacle may have a loose connection that is affecting the power to the smokes.
So why do I have a breaker labeled smoke detectors?
mikegp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 10:46 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 925
Rewards Points: 672
Default

Can a speed control switch for fan set off smoke alarm?


I rechecked mine last night and the breaker labeled smoke detectors is actually powering the smokes and the bedroom. The breaker labeled bedroom 1 is connected and wired, but does not control anything in the house. I just shut it off for now. It's the top right breaker so when I add my generator breakers I'll just eliminate it.

mikegp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fan Speed Control tev9999 Electrical 3 12-04-2012 12:28 AM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 07:43 PM
Grundfos Circulator with Vaiable Speed Control amatantsev HVAC 3 01-23-2010 01:52 PM
Ceiling fan control switch problem mandolynn Electrical 4 05-09-2009 06:09 PM
Hampton Bay Fan control switch vince Electrical 2 08-20-2006 06:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.