Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2011, 09:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 28
Share |
Default

Can someone confirm my subpanel hookup


Feel like I'm beating a dead horse with all the sub panel questions but....
I looking for confirmation/comments on my sub panel hookup. I ran out of space and needed to add a couple new circuits.

Added a 60 amp breaker to my 100 amp panel.

The sub panel is next to my main panel. I used conduit to run (4) #4 CU wires to the new panel. The sub panel does not have a main breaker.

2 conductor wires from the 60 amp breaker connected to the main lugs of the sub panel.
1 common from the main panel ground/common bar connected to the UN-BONDED common of the sub panel.
1 Sheathed Green from the main panel ground/common bar to the ground bar of the sub panel, which is attached directly to the sub panel metal case.

Added (2) 20 amp and (2) 15 amp branch circuits to the sub panel.
The (2) 15 amp circuits replaced the 2 I lost when I added the 60 amp breaker to the main panel.

Thanks - Tom

tvanharp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 10:42 PM   #2
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Can someone confirm my subpanel hookup


common ah hem! NEUTRAL Lets use th right terms it will help everybody understand.

With no disconnect or main breaker in your sub panel you are limited to six breaker handles(unless you install disconnect)


BUT yes your work sounds good.

__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 02:22 AM   #3
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Can someone confirm my subpanel hookup


Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturday Cowboy View Post

With no disconnect or main breaker in your sub panel you are limited to six breaker handles(unless you install disconnect)
I think the max 6 rule only applies to services and panels in separate structures. 225.33(A) and 230.71(A).
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 03:52 AM   #4
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Can someone confirm my subpanel hookup


now thats a good question
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 06:28 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 28
Default

Can someone confirm my subpanel hookup


Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturday Cowboy
common ah hem! NEUTRAL Lets use th right terms it will help everybody understand.
Yes neutral, sorry my dad always used common and he was my electrical teacher, old habits.
As for the branch circuits I have room for 8 but not being used. The (2) 20 amp are only feeding 1 outlet each for a new heated bathtub, it called for 2 separate 20 amp circuits with GFI's one for the heater and one for the pump.
Thanks for the reply
Tom
tvanharp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 06:32 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SE Mass
Posts: 87
Default

Can someone confirm my subpanel hookup


Yes your description sounds correct.
Do It Right is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 10:03 AM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,851
Default

Can someone confirm my subpanel hookup


You could have used three #6 awg copper with a #10 awg copper ground but there is certainly nothing wrong with four #4 awg copper.

You are not limited to the 6 disconnect rule in your sub-panel as previously mentioned by code05. Disconnects are to be grouped for services for the same building/dwelling and you can remove power from both your service equipment and the sub-panel by opening the service disconnect for your home.

I agree your installation sounds correct.

Compare it with this diagram.
Attached Thumbnails
Can someone confirm my subpanel hookup-subpanel-stubbie.jpg  

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 03-10-2011 at 10:05 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a subpanel to a sub-panel and other questions CardinalPilot Electrical 14 03-30-2011 02:23 PM
Adding Subpanel for Basement - Few Questions mindle Electrical 28 01-07-2010 08:49 AM
Grounding a Subpanel Craigman Electrical 25 12-07-2009 07:25 PM
Problems with Square D Subpanel bltglt507 Electrical 16 12-04-2009 08:44 PM
A few slightly different questions on subpanel wiring. Chris Dopp Electrical 8 06-26-2009 09:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.