Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-12-2012, 12:29 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 35
Share |
Default

Can the meter socket itself be replaced?


Hi. I have this meter socket, identified by "MSJ-7" that I want to replace. Just the socket base, not the whole enclosure. Why; there is evidence a surge has overheated one of the line sockets.

Are replacement socket bases available (without the encl.) and are they fit-form-function and ? Are there any alignment problems I need to deal with between the meter tangs (which seems to have some slop in its position when the meter is moved around) and the socket base? And who might have one? Thanks for your help.

Last edited by Johnd85053; 02-12-2012 at 01:46 PM. Reason: Clarified I need a new socket base.
Johnd85053 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 04:17 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 35
Default

Can the meter socket itself be replaced?


Here's a picture of what I have.
Attached Thumbnails
Can the meter socket itself be replaced?-awp_1029_small.jpg  
Johnd85053 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 05:17 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Can the meter socket itself be replaced?


Asking around at some local electrical supply houses may get you somewhere. Also looks like they did not use any ox guard.

Did you disconnect the neutral or was it already that way from corrosion.

Last edited by rrolleston; 02-12-2012 at 05:21 PM.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 05:26 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,674
Default

Can the meter socket itself be replaced?


A "surge" did not do that. A weak connection did.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (02-12-2012), plummen (02-12-2012), Stubbie (02-12-2012)
Old 02-12-2012, 08:51 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 35
Default

Can the meter socket itself be replaced?


I agree. My aim is to "splurge" and fix it. What's the best way to move forward?
Johnd85053 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:20 PM   #6
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,792
Default

Can the meter socket itself be replaced?


Check the wires/clean connections and reinstall them with some no-lox on them.
Is the service disconnected or did you just pull the meter?
Watch the line-side of that meter socket,you are the fusable link if you bump something
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:28 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 35
Default

Can the meter socket itself be replaced?


Thanks Plummen. Yes, I have the utmost respect for the line side. But did you notice the upper right line socket, a little discolored, and without the meter blade inserted there is a gap which worries me. Am I worrying about noth'in?
Johnd85053 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:33 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 35
Default

Can the meter socket itself be replaced?


rrolleston, in this pix the neutral splice may look like it has corrosion on one side but it does not, its just bare Al wire. I didn't touch it.
Johnd85053 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:40 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 35
Default

Can the meter socket itself be replaced?


Speedy,

>>A "surge" did not do that. A weak connection did.

I think you meant a weak mechanical connection? OK, thanks. Hmmm, I wonder how you prevent something like this. I guess its possible a brand new socket could have a defect in this fashion and result in the same issue (i.e. latent fault). Maybe pick a good parts manuf.

But, my immediate problem is correcting the issue, if you agree its an issue like I think it is.
Johnd85053 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:43 PM   #10
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,792
Default

Can the meter socket itself be replaced?


Ive seen much worse
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 10:04 PM   #11
Electromagician
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 79
Default

Can the meter socket itself be replaced?


how is the enclosure bonded to the neutral?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
I have a box of capacitors that can lower your power bill.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
just ask me how.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
powerfactor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 10:07 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 35
Default

Can the meter socket itself be replaced?


Thanks Powerfactor, but off topic.
Johnd85053 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 10:08 PM   #13
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,792
Default

Can the meter socket itself be replaced?


Quote:
Originally Posted by powerfactor View Post
how is the enclosure bonded to the neutral?
Looks like its got a piece of bare copper coming in from service bonded to box going into panel for a ground .
The neutral seems to just loop through,maybe a previous repair?
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 10:25 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 35
Default

Can the meter socket itself be replaced?


Plummen, no repair. Service neutral (#2 AL) is spliced to my neutral (1/0 AL) which is terminated at the neutral bar in the adjacent main breakerbox. This neutral bar is bonded in the breakerbox. The continuous bare Cu that you see (main bonding jumper) starts in the meter socket box at the UG riser fitting, then picks up the meter box itself, then passes thru the nipple and picks up the breakerbox side of this same nipple, then terminates at the neutral bar.

Powerfactor, sorry I was short. Let me know if you need any add'tl data that could help me determine the best way forward per my socket issue.

I still would like to know if I should replace my meter socket base or if I'm over-reacting. Plummen's opinion seems to lean towards "its not that bad", but I'm not sure.
Johnd85053 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 11:09 PM   #15
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Can the meter socket itself be replaced?


If you are using the convetal meter you should be not too bad but if you have a new smart meter that will may arise a new issue so right now it hard to say which way you have there.

Second thing you should Jamais ever remove the meter from the meter socket in case something can go wrong it will do a wonderfull fireworks there sorta like souped up runaway welder if you get my drift on that.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Replace Socket in Recessed Housing? chewbakarox Electrical 6 10-03-2011 05:22 PM
Insulated metal grounding bushing in meter socket WillK Electrical 7 05-26-2011 09:10 AM
Tiny elbows on meter? pcampbell HVAC 24 10-06-2009 09:54 AM
Dual meter socket wiring bdelegan Electrical 6 09-25-2008 07:11 PM
Info on Double lug meter socket aokss Electrical 2 03-06-2007 04:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.