Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2012, 05:15 PM   #1
transmitterrecieverpntgun
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Matanuska-Susitna Valley Alaska
Posts: 83
Share |
Default

can I wire in power for a water heater?


I am adding a standard 2 element 40 gallon tank style water heater to the cabin. I can bring power to it from two different places. I have 200 amps available at the power meter. At the meter there is a 100 amp breaker and 100 amp line going to the breaker box. At the breaker box, there are 2 20 amp breakers for the well pump and 2 20 amp breakers for the dryar. (the dryar is "high effency" and supposedly uses less power than a normal dryar.) The cook stove and oven are Propaine. There is no other power usage other than the normal stuff like the refridgerator, toaster, microwave, lights, tv... etc... In the winter I use 2 electric heaters where the woodstove heat doesnt get too. One of the 20 amp breakers is not even being used and I think I have an available spot for another 20 amp breaker. If there is not enough space in the breaker box, I can put in a breaker at the meter and run a line just for the water heater. When looking at the pics, pay no mind to the 200 amp breaker at the meter. It is dead. It was left there because the electrician that rewired it left it didnt want to leave an open hole in the panel. Any help on how to wire this in would be greatly apreciated!!
Attached Thumbnails
can I wire in power for a water heater?-camera-201210-093.jpg   can I wire in power for a water heater?-camera-201210-098.jpg  

__________________
utilitylocator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 05:33 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 215
Default

can I wire in power for a water heater?


Have you considered a propane water heater?

sgip2000 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 06:06 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

can I wire in power for a water heater?


Is there another panel between the two pictures you posted? Because the wires leaving that meter panel don't seem to match the one going into the second panel.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 06:12 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,784
Default

can I wire in power for a water heater?


Just come from the main. You have plenty of room.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 06:30 PM   #5
transmitterrecieverpntgun
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Matanuska-Susitna Valley Alaska
Posts: 83
Default

can I wire in power for a water heater?


There is a box on the house where the line comes in from the remote meterbase. I took the cover off to show the wires.
Attached Thumbnails
can I wire in power for a water heater?-waterheater2-001.jpg   can I wire in power for a water heater?-waterheater2-003.jpg  
__________________
utilitylocator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 06:33 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,784
Default

can I wire in power for a water heater?


Quote:
Originally Posted by utilitylocator View Post
There is a box on the house where the line comes in from the remote meterbase. I took the cover off to show the wires.
Or better yet come from this box. I'd have suggested that earlier, if I knew about it.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 06:45 PM   #7
transmitterrecieverpntgun
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Matanuska-Susitna Valley Alaska
Posts: 83
Default

can I wire in power for a water heater?


Quote:
Originally Posted by sgip2000 View Post
Have you considered a propane water heater?
I am replacing an old propane heater. It was pourly vented and didnt have a fresh air intake. I dont want to put in a new exaust through the roof. I also have the heater exposed in the laundry room and not framed in. Electric is easyer to install and easyer to maintain. Propane here is $4.60 a gallon plus a delivery surcharge. I was told by a plummer that the copper propane lines are too small for the existing heater, let alone a newer bigger one, oven and furnace. Im building a new house in a few years that will be all natural gas appliances. This house here (the cabin) is going to be torn down and the foundation will be used to build the garage. To keep propane I'll need to cut holes in the roof, upgrade the supply lines all throughout the house, and do alot of framing.
__________________
utilitylocator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 06:51 PM   #8
transmitterrecieverpntgun
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Matanuska-Susitna Valley Alaska
Posts: 83
Default

can I wire in power for a water heater?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Or better yet come from this box. I'd have suggested that earlier, if I knew about it.
Thats a great idea! I just need to figure out if 100 amps is enough to run everything. Wouldnt I want to reduce the 100 amp breaker so that the combined amps dont excede 100?
__________________

Last edited by utilitylocator; 10-07-2012 at 06:56 PM.
utilitylocator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 09:49 PM   #9
transmitterrecieverpntgun
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Matanuska-Susitna Valley Alaska
Posts: 83
Default

can I wire in power for a water heater?


I guess it would be ok if there were more than 100 amps of breakers in the exterior panel on the house because theres a breaker at the meter panel. Or am I wrong??
__________________
utilitylocator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 09:54 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,696
Default

can I wire in power for a water heater?


The service is based on calculations and not by adding the sum of the breakers.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 11:05 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 215
Default

can I wire in power for a water heater?


Quote:
Originally Posted by utilitylocator View Post
I am replacing an old propane heater. It was pourly vented and didnt have a fresh air intake. I dont want to put in a new exaust through the roof. I also have the heater exposed in the laundry room and not framed in. Electric is easyer to install and easyer to maintain. Propane here is $4.60 a gallon plus a delivery surcharge. I was told by a plummer that the copper propane lines are too small for the existing heater, let alone a newer bigger one, oven and furnace. Im building a new house in a few years that will be all natural gas appliances. This house here (the cabin) is going to be torn down and the foundation will be used to build the garage. To keep propane I'll need to cut holes in the roof, upgrade the supply lines all throughout the house, and do alot of framing.
Makes sense. Sounds like electric is better for your situation.

sgip2000 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rumbling pipes and leaking pressure relief valve rogerwright Plumbing 21 04-14-2012 02:35 PM
80 Gallon Water Heater Thermostat myowneq Electrical 26 02-13-2012 10:50 AM
elevate electric water heater? crankbait09 Plumbing 18 04-18-2011 11:35 AM
Wiring to a water heater bvsmith_1974 Electrical 3 09-03-2008 03:32 AM
(Water Heater MYSTERY) Hot water out from dead tank with cold water in it? Inayity Plumbing 6 07-14-2008 08:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.