Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-2011, 02:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can I use a piece of wire to connect a grounding plug to an outlet?


So I just moved to Ohio from Florida. The house I moved to is pretty old and has mostly two-prong outlets. I'm trying to plug my video game system in the living room of the house but the game system has a three-pronged plug.

I tried using a cheater plug that has one of those metal grounding tabs on it where you take the center screw out of the faceplate on the outlet and put it through the grounding tab on the cheater plug, then screw it back into the faceplate. The problem is the grounding tab goes too far out to the side and when I put the white screw into the grounding tab, I can't screw it back into the outlet.

So my question is, can I use a small piece of wire to bridge the gap? I was going to tie one end of a piece of wire to the grounding tab on the cheater plug and then insert the other end of the wire into the center of the faceplate and screw the white screw back into it. Would that work?

Really, I just want to plug my game system in without getting electrocuted, lol. Any advice?

Smoked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 02:55 PM   #2
Member
 
iminaquagmire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 370
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Can I use a piece of wire to connect a grounding plug to an outlet?


No. That will not work and please do not try it. Do you know what kind of wire is in walls? Some types use the armor as the ground and you can just attach a wire from the box to the green screw of a new grounded receptacle. The best and safest workaround if you don't know though is to replace the original 2 prong receptacle with a new GFCI receptacle and mark it as having no equipment grounding conductor.

iminaquagmire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 03:01 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can I use a piece of wire to connect a grounding plug to an outlet?


Thanks, I'm glad I came here then

Is a GFCI easy to install or do I need to have an expert come in to do it?

Last edited by Smoked; 10-12-2011 at 03:04 PM.
Smoked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 03:04 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 225
Rewards Points: 158
Default

Can I use a piece of wire to connect a grounding plug to an outlet?


no thats not the good type you can go to any store that sell electric stuff and they will have gfci receptacles.
carmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 03:23 PM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Can I use a piece of wire to connect a grounding plug to an outlet?


Replacing a two prong receptacle with a GFCI will provide protection for people but it will do absolutely nothing as far as protecting equipment. There would be no equipment ground.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 04:37 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can I use a piece of wire to connect a grounding plug to an outlet?


So not grounding the game console can damage it? What would happen?
Smoked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 04:54 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,289
Rewards Points: 576
Default

Can I use a piece of wire to connect a grounding plug to an outlet?


Any type of spikes,sags or surges won't go to ground and you'll have a power supply sending too much voltage to the system.
bobelectric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 12:22 AM   #8
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,557
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

Can I use a piece of wire to connect a grounding plug to an outlet?


Pretty unlikely that a video game console would actually require a grounding connection for anything, ever. The power supplies are isolated anyways. The only thing the grounding connection might help with is surge protection (the power supply probably has built in surge suppression that requires a grounding conductor to function) - but it's very unlikely that you would ever have a surge sufficient to damage the equipment. I'd just plug it in with the 2-prong "cheater" adapter and forget about it. That's functionally identical to using a GFCI, but without the shock protection - which will probably never be necessary for a video game system anyway.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 02:11 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can I use a piece of wire to connect a grounding plug to an outlet?


Alright I guess I'll just use the cheater plug for now until I get a GFCI. Thanks for your help guys.
Smoked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 03:56 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Can I use a piece of wire to connect a grounding plug to an outlet?


Based on the comments, I am not sure the OP would want to do replace the outlet himself, but there is the possibility that there is already a ground wire at the box. My mother-in-law's house has two prong w/ no ground outlets. When I was replacing a cracked outlet, I found that the ground wire was attached to the grounding screw in the metal box. I installed a 3-prong outlet and it tested good.

On the other hand, I had two outlets in my house (back-to-back on same wall but facing different rooms) where the ground wire was just snipped off. I had to replace the Romex from a junction box in the basement to the first, then second outlet.

brgmgb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switched outlet and running new wire matt151617 Electrical 7 07-03-2011 10:55 AM
Connect a 2 wire grounded out let to a 2 wire ungrounded wire cable FranH70 Electrical 2 04-25-2011 12:59 PM
2 wire switch connected to 3 wire outlet pacowboy78 Electrical 4 08-23-2010 07:25 PM
Changing an outlet, Grounding Procedure jamiedolan Electrical 15 10-12-2008 10:07 AM
3 Wire 220 Volt Outlet theatretch85 Electrical 5 07-29-2008 01:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.