Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-24-2010, 12:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can I use lights and outlets on same circuit?


I have an old house. There are two 12-2 wires going into the garage. One is on the same circuit as the kitchen outlets with 20 amps. The other is a 12-2 that goes directly to the panel. I want 2 lights and 4 outlets (two for the two garage door openers) in the garage. What is the best way to do this with what I have. Due to drywall, it would be very hard to run a 14-2 to the panel from the garage for the lights.

Thanks for any input.


Last edited by heyd; 08-24-2010 at 12:56 PM.
heyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 12:57 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Can I use lights and outlets on same circuit?


Where are you located ?
Attached garage ?
These days kitchen outlets can't leave the kitchen
So not a good idea to add onto that, against code

So I would use the other 20a circuit, use 12g wire
Yes its OK to have outlets & lights on the same circuit
Of course the problem is if you are using a tool & kick the breaker off your lights go off

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 01:01 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can I use lights and outlets on same circuit?


I'm from MA. House is 1930's attached. Ok, I'll terminate the kitchen wire and I'll run it all off the other line. Should I use a 20 or 15amp breaker? Also, should I run 12-2 to the lights and light switch?

Thanks!

Last edited by heyd; 08-24-2010 at 01:03 PM.
heyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 01:03 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Can I use lights and outlets on same circuit?


If the existing wiring is all 12g then use a 20a breaker
Use 12g wire for the lights

If there is any 14g then you have to use a 15a breaker
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 01:05 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can I use lights and outlets on same circuit?


awesome. Thank you!
heyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All the lights and Outlets on one Breaker? jonathan03 Electrical 7 03-15-2010 01:30 PM
Lights on circuit with outlets Klawman Electrical 16 02-22-2010 07:51 AM
Should Ceiling lights be on separate circuit? handyoldgal Electrical 29 03-18-2009 09:54 PM
Correcting 40+ years of screwy wiring Badfish740 Electrical 3 12-28-2008 10:19 PM
How many lights on a circuit? How many outlets? helpless handyman Electrical 4 04-14-2008 01:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.